Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Dolby Digital / DTS via analogue outputs?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by cbemoore, May 16, 2005.

  1. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Esher
    Ratings:
    +16
    Until now, I've been using the SPDIF output from my HTPC into my Rotel processor, and onwards into my Mackie active speakers.

    I've now decided to sell the processor, and plug my speakers directly into the PC. So the PC will be acting as a processor.

    I've just bought an M-Audio Revolution 7.1 soundcard, which does Circle Surround II processing for 2-channel inputs (eg TV and music). But I'm not sure what happens if I input DD/DTS when playing DVDs.

    As far as I can tell, the audio should be handled by the DVD decoder software (I'm using the NVidia decoders). But the NVidia documentation seems to say that is doesn't decode DD and DTS - instead, it just passes the digital stream to the SPDIF output.

    Is there any DVD decoding software out there that decodes DD and DTS, and sends the decoded signals to the analogue outputs on my sound card? Or does the NVidia decoder do this already?

    Chris
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Nvidia decoders decode DD & DTS as do PowerDVD & WinDVD
     
  3. Hawklan

    Hawklan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +312
    Hi

    Theatertek with the advanced audio packs works a treat (Only does 5.1 however)

    RON
     
  4. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +70
    theatertek II with an rme card is neck and neck with a MC1 via balanced outs :thumbsup:
     
  5. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Media Player Classic decodes DTS too :) useful when you have avis with a DTS track!
     
  6. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Esher
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for the advice, guys. But I'm still a bit confused.....

    The Revo 7.1 control panel includes full bass management, including speaker volume levels, size, distance, crossover frequency etc. It also contains Circle Surround settings for converting 2ch stereo into 5.1 surround.

    However, the NVidia control panel also contain individual channel volume, speaker delay and so on.

    When I play a DVD, will the NVidia decoders use their own bass management settings and completely bypass the Revo settings? Or will the two settings get overlayed onto each other?

    Chris
     
  7. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Esher
    Ratings:
    +16
    I've just been reading the NVidia website, which states quite clearly that the NVidia decoder does NOT support DD or DTS via the analogue outputs!

    See here and here for details.

    Instead, the 5.1 soundtrack is downmixed to 2 channels.

    So it looks like I need to find another decoder!

    Chris
     
  8. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +83
    If you get theatertek and the advanced audio pack you can deocde DD/DTS on your PC and pass it to the analogue outs of your revo. I do this now. It works. TT has bass management so you can use that or the one on the maudio revo's setup screen.

    Not really sure about the quotes from Nvidia's site but trust me TT + nvidia codecs + Maudio Revo = multichannel analogue out works just fine.:)

    HTH
    Owain
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice