1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doing the SKY+ SDI mod. First hand!

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by charker, Mar 28, 2005.

1. charker

charker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    A few weeks ago I thought I would try and do this mod myself. When I looked on the forums I couldn't really find any info about how hard this might be so I hope this helps anyone thinking of doing this mod themselves.

I'm no expert at soldering but do like to fiddle with gadgets. I thought I could do this....easy I thought! :rolleyes:

I ordered the part from the US (pmsvideo), about £90 and 3 days to arrive in the UK. The easy bit. You will get a small wire loom and an SDI board. I also ordered an SDI cable from the Pluggin people who sell modified SKY+ boxes.

I would suggest that anyone thinking of doing this looks at the instructions on the pms site and also takes the lid off the SKY+ box before they order any parts. Look at the size of the solder points....they are tiny, like soldering to a shirt-pin head. :lesson:

In preparation I ordered a soldering iron (30 watt, .4mm , .8mm tip) off Ebay (£13 from someone going by the name solderman).

I opened up the SKY+ box took one look :eek: and put the lid back on. My first reaction was that it was impossible! Hence my recommendation that you look before you order the parts!

Not to be beaten I bought a hands-free magnifying glass from Maplin at £10.

I took the lid off and had another attempt. ...and put the lid back on. I still thought it was impossible! :rolleyes:

I phoned the local TV repair shop, I thought I would pay someone else! He was on holiday and I'm impatient!

The following night, not to be beaten I had a third attempt and acquired a very bright light to brighten up the soldering area.