Question Does Youview UltraHD box upscale Freeview HD to 2160p?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Dick Emery, Feb 22, 2017.

  1. Dick Emery

    Dick Emery
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +93
    Does the Youview UltraHD box upscale Freeview HD to 2160p? Also can I use it without a BT subscription for live over the air broadcasts?
     
  2. billybob99

    billybob99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    North Devon
    Ratings:
    +6
    It does upscale or you can let the tv do the upscaling, you can watch all "aerial channels" without a subscription not sure about online content though
     
  3. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,000
    This may be useful... albeit it is short on hard technical information.

    Page 29 deals with UltraHD
     
  4. jfinnie

    jfinnie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,837
    If you want to have 4k out of the UltraHD box for 4k netflix / BT sport I think you have to let it do the upscaling of non-4k stuff.
     
  5. Nathan Cooke

    Nathan Cooke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +35
    But it cannot generate what is not there, so waste of time.
     
  6. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,089
    It would be a waste of time if it didn't. A 4k TV always upscales any resolution below 4k as otherwise it would appear as a small picture in the middle/edge of the screen and you would pretty well need a magnifying glass to see an SD broadcast. Think about it.:facepalm: The screen is 4k so you need to get the extra pixels from somewhere and it's called upscaling.
    Similar an HD TV upscales SD broadcasts (unless you get 'the box' to do it)
     
  7. jfinnie

    jfinnie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,837
    The problem is there is little incentive on the manufacturers of a network-provider supplied box like the BT UltraHD Youview box to do a good job on the scaling - these are designed and manufactured down to a price point not up to a quality level.

    You would be much better having the scaling done in a good quality 4K set than in the UHD box.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice