Does your Pioneer 575 Flicker?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Raze, Jan 25, 2005.

?
  1. Yes

    12 vote(s)
    21.8%
  2. No

    43 vote(s)
    78.2%
  1. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I recently ran a group test and one of the models included was a Pioneer 575a. One of it's downsides was that it flickered on some CRTs.

    I was just wondering if all of the 575 owners who visit here could let us know whether their 575 flickers or not, please also tell us the make and model of your TV/Plasma/Screen.

    If there are a lot of people with the same problem, perhaps we can let Pioneer know, who may release a firmware upgrade for us.

    An example of flicker is in the film, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, chapter 20 - the edges of the tables on the right hand side 'shimmer/flicker'. This is the type of flicker we are reffering to not complete screen flicker (I doubt even the 'cheapest' of players would flicker the entire screen).
     
  2. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ok, I'll start...


    Flickers = Yes

    TV used is a CRT Toshiba 36zp46 (Picture Frame 3).
     
  3. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No ... Panny PWD6 via component in
     
  4. CMcK

    CMcK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +28
    No flicker. Loewe Aconda 32". Connected via RGB only Squart cable. Sound via phonos to amp.
     
  5. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,758
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,920
    No flicker.. absolutely fantastic picture on my Tosh 36ZP48 via progressive component

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  6. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    That is extremely interesting Andy! Do I have a faulty 575 or a faulty 36ZP?
    Have you got Monsters Inc? What are the contours like on the characters?
    If you didn't live so far I'd ask if I could pop over just to take a look!

    Can you give me further info about the age of your player and whether it is multi-region please? Thanks.
     
  7. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Raze,

    I've got a 575 and a 36ZP48. I've not noticed any flicker.

    Monsters Inc has been mentioned for highlighting the problem but I don't have this disc.

    Are there any other discs which highlight the problem, if I've got one of those I'll gladly test it for you.

    Ryan
     
  8. neuty

    neuty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,755
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cannock
    Ratings:
    +606
    i plan on watching monsters inc very soon and will report back .
    But at present all is good ,no flickers here
     
  9. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think almost every DVD had flicker at some point.

    Crouching Tiger
    Xmen
    Van Helsing
    I Robot
    Moulin Rouge
    etc

    You may find that you have to sit a bit closer to see it.
    For eg in Xmen I think about scene 6, Ian McKellens forehead (worry lines) flicker!

    In Monsters Inc I think about scene 4, when they are going to 'work' check out the window sills on the left and right as the camera pans down, these 'wobble' slightly. FLicker is evident on the contours of almost all characters (also on the inside of eyes /glasses..)
     
  10. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Also does anyone live in South Wales and who does not experience this flicker? I'd love to see!
     
  11. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,758
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,920
    Haven't got monsters inc. Bought it this weekend just gone and yes it's multiregion. To be honest I'm over the moon with the picture, didn't expect it to be anywhere near as good as the Pio 868 I sold recently but I have to be honest on the Tosh TV I can't really tell the difference! There's no flickering at all just a very nice detailed picture.

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  12. neuty

    neuty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,755
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cannock
    Ratings:
    +606
    Just watched the fist 30 mins of monsters inc (chapter 1-5)and there is no sign of flickering or jaggies on anything.

    i have pw6 plasma ixos component leads and 575.

    no problems here just stunning picture,on pal and ntsc.

    oh , i was sitting 4 ft away from 42inch tv for this test.
     
  13. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Raze,

    I've spent the last 10 minutes staring at Ian McKellens forehead and can't honestly say I noticed any flicker.

    Where I think I have seen it is right at the beginning of chapter 6 when the limo pulls up behind the two motorbikes, there is a shimmer or "flicker" across the top of the windscreen and on the chrome strip around the side window when the door opens.

    Also another thing I noticed is the seat of the bench at the beginning of chapter 8 appears to flicker.

    Is this what you were talking about ?

    Ryan
     
  14. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yes! I get both instances here as well!

    Thank god for that! Thought I was going mad!
     
  15. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Neuty - do you have the 36zd46 or the zd48?

    Andy - what other recent films to you have? I'll try and see if I can find some flicker in them...
     
  16. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
  17. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    that url doesn't work Ryan

    u can email me it if u like <removed>
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2008
  18. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmmm lifted that link straight out of the thread in this section of the forum entitled "Newbie question. What's MACROBLOCKING?"

    I think it was post 2 by nelius

    Ryan
     
  19. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    So are you gonna test some more DVDs now Ryan? It's one of those things that will bug you now each time u watch a film!! :-(
     
  20. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, tell me about it...

    Just tried something different, watched the same scenes with the 575's output set to interlaced, the flickering was still there but didn't seem as bad.

    I'm a bit of a newby at this and still learning all the in's and outs. I'm REALLY trying not to get too picky but unfortunately, "too picky" can sometimes be my middle name. :)

    Saying that, I have just stepped up from an 8 year old "cheapy" 24" 4:3 and a pioneer 535. Have gotta say that this new setup completely blows the old one away. I'd always been quite proud of the PQ of the 535, guess I just didn't know what I was missing.

    Ryan
     
  21. Raze

    Raze
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Please report any more flicker if you find it Ryan. Like you say tho, most of as are blow away with the performance of what we are used to, we kindof don't notice little things like flicker, but when u do it eats away at ya!! Especially when you know some other set-ups do not flicker at all! (the toshiba 340e does not!)

    :-(
     
  22. Barzo

    Barzo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +388
    Flicker=yes

    Component input (prog scan) to JVC 28P37 TV.

    Some really good discs for noticing flicker, jagged diagonal edges and movement/panning flicker:

    Shaun of the Dead (R2) - opening chapter (edges of all buildings), and then throughout, particularly chap 3 or 4 where Shaun goes to work (look at flicker and jaggies on edges of cars, walls, etc),

    Dawn of the Dead: The Director's Cut (2003/R2) - chapter 11/12 particulary good. Bit where they are using the zombies for target practice from roof tops. Flicker on edges- bad shimmer on roofs - jagged, flickering telephone lines between buildings.

    Star Wars: Episode 1 (R2) - Chap 1 - flicker on top of imperial crusier as it comes into camera; Chap 2 - flicker on R2D2, etc. Throughout this movie.

    Agree that it takes a while to see the problem, but once you do, eyes are drawn to it. I had lived with it happily since early August (when I got my prog scan TV), as I thought the TV was at fault. Interestingly, I had never really noticed until I saw the difference NTSC prog scan on the Pioneer made to flicker/edges on picture.

    Can confirm that it is not the TV, as Tosh 340e (which I demo-ed before sending to my brother as an early b'day present to go with his new Tosh 36" CRT) did not flicker, and my replacement Panny S97 does not flicker.
     
  23. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +190
    No flicker through my Panasonic TH-42PWD6 (component)
     
  24. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +213
    No flicker using component connection into my AE500 LCD projector.
     
  25. Sarnaget

    Sarnaget
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmm, general consensus seems to be that the flicker is more to do with the screen than the 575.

    Is there anyone able to test their 575 through a flickering source and then a non flickering source with same output settings and "back to back" to confirm.


    Ryan
     
  26. Barzo

    Barzo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +388
    Let's just make sure we are all looking and voting on the same thing. It is encouraging that the issue just seems to be with CRT sets (to date), but let's make certain.

    The 'flicker' here is not fullscreen flicker, but flicker on edges (and not all edges). Usually bright bands of colour - e.g. sun reflecting off cars. It is also not immediately evident on all discs, but once a transfer with it appears, it certainly is noticeable. Likewise, 'jaggies' are best described, I suppose, as straight or diagonal lines appearing stepped.

    The flicker/jaggies are the same as you would get from interlace signals - if you don't notice any flicker/jaggies in interlace, then please don't go looking for flicker/jaggies in prog scan. You will either (a) not find it or, worse, (b) find it, and ruin your enjoyment of the player.
     
  27. Antpink

    Antpink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +103
    575 interlaced into Loewe Vitros 32" ws. No flicker here.... and Monsters was one of the first DVD's I put in to check PQ from old Q50 I replaced with 575 - lots of jaggies with Q50 - mysteriously (and happily) absent with 575. Chuffed.
     
  28. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    is there not a firmware upgrade to resolve the problem?
     
  29. Barzo

    Barzo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +388
    No firmware update to deal with this problem. Latest firmware is 2.09 (which, amongst other small changes, allows for DIVX/Xvid subtitles), and Pioneer have indicated that they do not intend to release any further firmware upgrades for this player. To be fair, if the problem is only with a selected number of screens, it is perhaps asking too much to request a firmware update.
     
  30. andyboy

    andyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    JVC HV28P37SJE and Pioneer DV575A connected directly via component video to TV and I get the 'jaggies' only on PAL Prog Scan but NOT NTSC

    Barzo thinks it's to do with the internal settings of the player itself and I tend to agree with him, the picture on LOTR - FOTR is exceptional as is Aliens SE (both R2) but Star Wars Ep 1 & 2 plus Ep 4 have this edge shimmer effect.

    Resident Evil Apocalypse (R1) - On my old Philips 28PW6517 connected via Thor Scart 1.5m had the problem with jaggies but this is eradicated when ran through NTSC Prog Scan.

    Bourne Supremacy (R2) - Jaggies a-go-go I'm afraid so it looks like I may have to replace my 575 with something else which is a shame because apart from the long load times on the odd disc, I was very happy with it, apparently the Tosh 340e is the one to go for.
     

Share This Page

Loading...