Does your 2011 Panasonic Plasma suffer from the green "blob" issue?

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by AVF Jay, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. AVF Jay

    AVF Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    I thought I'd start a poll to get a rough idea of how many panasonic sets have suffered from the "dreaded blob".

    Obviously this won't be an accurate representation of how many have actually been affected all over, but it will help give a rough idea.

    In my mind if for example over 90% of people on this forum have suffered from it then I'd say it might not be a good sign (unless it's just those that have suffered that vote :laugh:)

    Anyway have you suffered from the green blob? Discussion of the issue can be found here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/plas...-fault-panasonic-vt30-gt30-st30-part-2-a.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  2. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    Shouldn't you specify that this is for owners of the GT/VT30?

    I thought the green blob was only a fault on this years model.
     
  3. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Yes I have. On my original set, first replacement and my current one. So put me down for three votes!
     
  4. AVF Jay

    AVF Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    Well other sets are affected such as the ST30.

    I assumed most people on here would know I was referring to this years model.

    Although older sets have suffered from green tint issues.

    I know people are probably sick of hearing about it, and there are countless threads on this subject (I've added yet another one :facepalm:) but it was just to get a rough idea on the "issues"

    It seems like the majority of people are complaining about it, but then again most people post on forums when they have a problem or want to moan.

    Very rare will you get someone randomly join a forum to say "Hey my set is lovely", but I'd bet my life that if Bob comes across a problem he'll join a forum to moan about it.
     
  5. hillster

    hillster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    Yes, my original GT30 and replacement both have it. The replacement slightly less though.
     
  6. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    I think this is a good poll, because if what Panasonic are saying about power restrictions is correct them everyone should be voting yes. If the vote is split then the possibility of uneven phosphors or something else is more likely the cause.
     
  7. AVF Jay

    AVF Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    Just an update, obviously not official by any means but i placed an order today and voiced my concerns to sound and vision about the green blobs problem.

    Straight away they knew of it and have told me this was due to a bad batch, so obviously those that had a problem and then exchanged their sets were simply exchanging for another from the bad batch.

    I have been told that the issue has been resolved now, but then again they are selling me a tv, they obviously won't turn around and say "ah yes green blobs, they all have that problem" :laugh:

    And it's odd panasonic have acknowledged the problem and given the power as a reason, wouldn't a better response have been to say a small minority of sets were affected.

    Ah well time will tell....
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  8. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    I would love that to be the case but, my first two set were serial numbers starting with 13. I made sure the third had the latest number, which was 16. I still have a green blob. Unless its a really large batch that affected!
     
  9. AVF Jay

    AVF Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    What confuses me the most is Panasonics response.

    By saying it's a power issue they are basically saying EVERY set is affected.

    Normally from my experience manufacturers often either say "It's the first they know of the issue" or "Only a small minority of sets were affected"

    Going back to what I've been told, it's put my mind at rest a bit, but obviously I can see why I've been told that, they weren't likely to tell me all sets are still affected as their job is to sell tvs.

    I guess Panasonic can't say a small batch of tvs had an issue, as then owners of that batch would then demand replacements.

    I just feel the power response hasn't helped things either.

    While the whole green issue hasn't put me off buying a tv, if my tv suffers from it I certainly won't be replacing it, I'll get a refund and either make do with what I have or try a Samsung.
     
  10. Stone Free

    Stone Free
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +28
    Strange, it says I can't vote in this poll!
     
  11. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    It said the same for me until I logged in........
     
  12. slc79

    slc79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +158
    I voted yes, since I did find the blobs also on my new one. Serial number FB-162xxxx. While having observed them, they're not so far intrusive when viewing tv. I will keep updating if the blob worsens.

    My previous set was a FB-14xxxxx, had VERY visible green blobs and had panel replaced once, and just as bad when I got it back.
     
  13. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    There is already a dedicated thread on this issue, whilst a poll is a good idea can we just use this as it is intended and not turn it into another discussion thread. If this becomes another thread discussing the issue it will be merged into the existing thread.http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasma-tvs/1545348-green-tinge-fault-panasonic-vt30-gt30-st30-part-2-a.html

    Id suggest poeple simply post the model of there set and first digits of the serial number. Id also change the title of the thread to something like 'Do you have the green blob/splodge issue on your 2011 Panasonic?' Please dont forget these threads are read by non members too. OP maybe also add a link to the existing thread on the issue in your initial post for those that arent aware of it.:)

    To add, my 46" GT30 with serial no starting 13 doesn't have the issue, so a no vote from me.:)
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  14. AVF Jay

    AVF Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    I've amended the title, I can't amend the poll title though, can you do that?
     
  15. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Green blobs on 50"VT30 s/n 162*****
     
  16. MartinCollinson

    MartinCollinson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +18
    Funnily enough I splashed out on a Sony 55HX923 this week and asked the chap in the Sony Store I was talking to about the crease issue which has been one of the major quality issues with this panel. He gave me the 'bad batch, everything is sorted now' story as well.

    To be fair to him the feedback on the Sony does seem to be that the crease issue has been dealt with, or at least substantially reduced but it still seems that "it's a bad batch" is AV sales 101 to deal with any customer enquiry about reported faults or issues.

    When you are spending 2K plus on a TV you should be able to do so without crossing your fingers you don't have a chronic quality issue.
     
  17. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Do you want it to be for two issues? the green tinge is different to the blobs/splodges. The existing threads title is a bit confusing it was made when the issues first became apparent, the tint effects most sets I think but can be calibrated out unlike the splodges.
    I know I dont have the splodges but may have had the tint by a very small amount when I first had my set. Ive seen the tint clearly on a set when I was looking to buy months ago too, but cant remember seeing the splodges.
    Im happy having the thread as you like, I just didnt want a duplicate thread. Good job on the title.:)
     
  18. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    I have to admit, I always thought they were the same.

    Having had 3 VT30s now, with varying levels of the fault, I thought the difference between tint and splodge was simply the area of the screen it covered. The tinge affecting 1/3 or 1/2 (or less) of the screen area, blobs being isolated islands of green tinge in seemingly random areas of the screen.

    The problem with calibrating either of these two issues out leads to the same end result, unaffected white areas become tinged with pink.
     
  19. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    That's right, I would love to get mine calibrated but don't want to waste the money as I have the green tinge/blob. (it covers part of my screen)
     
  20. feno

    feno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no green blobs for me, 42gt30.
     
  21. kingkarl

    kingkarl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,338
    :smashin:No green blobs for me 65VT30
     
  22. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Interesting split so far, pole was a good idea.:smashin:
     
  23. daformah

    daformah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Mansfield, UK
    Ratings:
    +41
    No green for me ATM SN 164xxxxxx

    Although getting very nervous about it......
     
  24. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Sadly after around 900 hours I now have the green splodge on my screen:thumbsdow Its just to the right of the centre of the screen.
     
  25. slc79

    slc79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +158
    Any chance you could get a picture of it?
     
  26. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469

    hmmm only have my phone, will give it a go tomorrow and see if I can get it.
     
  27. BigBee

    BigBee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +48
    Voted 'no' as there's not a 'not yet' option. :D
     
  28. Wootball

    Wootball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +611
    Mine has it, and I'm of the opinion that every set does - it's just whether you've noticed it or not.
     
  29. jimmya200

    jimmya200
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Carshalton
    Ratings:
    +184
    I share your opinion and mines going back! Not fit for purpose!
     
  30. kungfuman

    kungfuman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +131
    Just voted yes as my 46ST30 which was delivered on saturday had the blobs straight away. It carries a serial number of 13XXXXX so must of been a early batch I think.
     

Share This Page

Loading...