Does UK mastercard still work on US store?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by skirpydoink, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +85
    Hello,

    I had a mastercard account setup with the US store but i recently lost my card and had to apply for another....

    I have my new Mastercard in today and every time i try to set it up for my US account or make a new one i get the message that my credit card details are invalad.

    Anybody know if the Mastercard still works on US store?

    Maybe i am doing something wrong.

    Cheers!
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    It's possible it may only work now with already registered cards and not new ones. I'm not sure but that might be the case.
     
  3. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +85
    I have made up another 2 accounts and none of them work.

    I have signed up to WWW-Card and all my credit cards blocked the transaction and i am having problems with Wirecard also.

    No Tekken DR online for me then this Thursday :(
     
  4. solidamber

    solidamber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +139
    Does your new card need activating ? have you tried it in the UK yet?
     
  5. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +85
    Hi,

    I phoned them up asking if you need to activate the card like you do with Visa cards, but the person said it was working fine.

    He could see that i had tried to add funds and the card was accepted, so it must be something to do with PS3 network.
     
  6. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +85
    Managed to get the Wirecard sorted out:)

    Now playing the HK version of Tekken 5 DR online:clap:
     
  7. mr_vic

    mr_vic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halesowen, UK
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've forgotten my username for my wirecard.

    I read somewhere on the PS3 forum that you could upload using a Visa version of wirecard. I know that the website started in e... and was something like erospay or eroscard.com, nut i can't find the thread for the life of me?

    Anyone know if of such a website?
     
  8. ukguy4672

    ukguy4672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Can I ask how?

    I have my wirecard all ready to go and it works fine on the JAP/HK stores i.e I can add funds to my wallt in those stores.

    However, when I try to use my wirecard to add funds to my US account I just get a message "The credit card information is not valid"

    I can't understand why though. Can you help me out?
     
  9. skirpydoink

    skirpydoink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +85
    Hello,

    I have been trying to buy Tekken off the US store and i get the same message, i read that you need to delete the billing address from the HK account but i am still getting the same message as you.

    I will give it a full 24 hours and try again, if it does not work , i will e-mail Wirecard and ask them if i can get a new card.
     
  10. badmrtoad

    badmrtoad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Southend on Sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Everyone

    I also tried to get a wirecard and was then asked for passport etc, sod that:mad:

    Heres the method I used yesterday (8th September 2007) to add funds to my usa playstation account:

    1: I purchased a 'IDT Prime card - pre-paid mastercard' (see idtprime.com/)
    from a local shop (no ID needed but you should be over 18) and put £20 on it for a total cost of £23, some places that do 'paypoint' sell them including some Londis shops, but probably best to phone idt customer service for a list of shops in your postcode area especialy if you don't live in a major city as there were only 3 newsagents selling them in my local area (Southend,Essex)

    2: 'Activate' your card by phoning the number on the card (it's an easy automated service).

    3: DO NOT 'register' your card online etc so that no name or address is linked to the activated card, there are no real benefits to registering and it's not compulsary ( you can't register using a usa address).

    4:Boot up your ps3 and login to your usa playstation username and go to 'account management' then 'manage wallet' then 'add funds' then select 'credit card' and use the details on the prime card and your usa name and address that you registered the usa playstation account with.

    5: IMPORTANT - Then add $5 dollars only and then keep adding just $5 dollars each time till you have added the amount you want (IDT charge your card approx 50c to $1.50 for each foreign transaction- see their website for full details, so my £20 card added funds to my account and then purchased games to the value of approx $30 before my card used up all it's money and was finished,and it's not reloadable).

    I tried adding $20 in one go but then sony check the usa address against the credit card number and it comes up invalid.

    6: You can then go to the store and purchase and download any items you desire.

    I downloaded and installed Puzzle fighter,softn,qbert, and championship sprint and they all played fine even when i logged in as my normal uk username.

    It works out a little bit expensive at a total cost of £23 for approx $30 worth of sony store stuff but it was worth it for the great games.

    Hope this helps.
     
  11. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Tried to add funds to my USA account today using my Mastercard, but they must check the address against the card, because when I enter my card and then use the same address as I used when I signed up, it comes up with "Invaid Credit Card information" which means they check the details before you ever get a chance to add funds :thumbsdow

    Is there anyway us UK folks can add funds to the USA account?

    There is an option called "Playstation Network Card" whatever that is?
     
  12. MarVell

    MarVell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +56
    Just added $10 in $5 installments with no problems with the Mastercard I registered at the start of the year so it definitely still works if you have already registered your card and you add funds in $5 installments.
     
  13. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    That is for Japan only.
     
  14. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you registered your card at the start of the year then you will be fine, but as it is my first time registering my card now, they dont let you do this as they check the billing address for all new cards added BEFORE you get to add money to the account, which is really annoying!

    I dont know why they would do this for all UK owners, but they will be losing money from us customers and also make people more frustrated about the US Playstation store having games well before the UK Store gets them. Why they cant just update all region stores evades me entirely.

    Now I will have to wait X weeks before I can download the full version of Puzzle Fighter HD :thumbsdow
     
  15. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried again to register my card, but no joy twice!

    Please, can ANYONE tell me if there is anyway you can add funds to a USA account to purchase premium content!?

    I am at a loss, so if anyone knows, can you please tell me, as im sure others will want to know exactly the same information! :lease:
     
  16. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I suspect you may not be able to register anymore cards on the US store.
     
  17. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is this it for UK customers who wish to purchase on the US store then?

    If you cannot register credit cards based in the UK, is there any workaround still available?
     
  18. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Like I said I suspect they have closed the loop hole altogether but I'm not sure. It would apply to people outside the US trying to register a card and purchase from the US PSN. As far as I know there is no work around.
     
  19. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you cannot physically use cards that are registered to a UK address, can you use one of these what they call "Virtual Cards" or "Virtual Gift Cards" where you basically have a credit card, but you dont have to supply address details to it?

    I heard about this before, but not sure if these websites still exist today?
     
  20. badmrtoad

    badmrtoad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Southend on Sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    See my previous post in this thread regarding the IDT Prime card, it still worked great when i purchased some stuff from the USA PS3 store yesterday:thumbsup:

    It doesn't work on the Japan PS3 store though:thumbsdow
     
  21. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I will try this IDT Prime card today then, there seems to be a lot of stores right near my work which is a good start to me!

    If this works for the US Store you will have one happy man!
     
  22. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have just tried it this evening, and IT WORKS!!!! :thumbsup::clap::rotfl:

    Thankyou very much to BADMRTOAD, because without his helpful advice I would never have been able to get this to work properly, as he is the only one that managed to find a workable solution to this problem.

    You can only add $10 at a time to make sure it works, and you can get a $30 wallet for your £23 (£20 on card & £3 card fee) which might sound expensive to some people, but then you dont really have any other options open to the UK.

    Now its on my US account, im tempted to register it to my debit card so that I can add upto £500 on it in one go, as you can now pay £1.95 to make this card re-loadable rather than a throw away card!

    If it is already registered on the account, I assume it wouldnt be checking the address the next time I added another $10 using the same card?
     
  23. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    That isn't worth it though in my opinion. Adding $30 to your wallet should cost you closer to £15 and not £23. You're paying about 50% then you should be doing it that way. Certainly not worth it just to get some premium games or game related content.
     
  24. London Town

    London Town
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +209
    My Mastercards still working here :thumbsup: flogged my launch day ps3 ages ago, but recently bought one back again after the price drop....

    Just signed in with my original account and all my details were linked to my account, and added funds to my wallet.....
     
  25. Darth_terra

    Darth_terra
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +982
    it's registering new cards that doesn't work.. cards that were already registered at launch etc would still work.
     
  26. London Town

    London Town
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +209
    Ahh i see......sorry to get peoples hopes up then...
     
  27. dancemb

    dancemb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    That does depend on how badly you would want the US-only premium content that is available. For instance that game I mainly wanted in the 1st place has not become available on the UK store, so to me it was worth paying the additional money for that to happen.

    If I reloaded this card, even though I would add my UK address, I assume as it has already been registered without an address that it would not check?
     
  28. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    That's fair enough. It's just something I wouldn't do just to get a game.
     
  29. ScottW75

    ScottW75
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +855
    just like to confirm this still works (idt)
     
  30. pbb76

    pbb76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,509
    Really!? Is this from new - i.e. not registered ages ago???

    If so, I am SOOOOOO getting all the Rock Band DLC tonight :D:D:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...