1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does this exist?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by rhoamish, May 13, 2003.

  1. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm after a preamp, which has both coaxial and optical digital in. It must have separate 5.1 phono outputs, and 5.1 inputs. It could also do with 2 or 3 stereo phono inputs. It doesn't need to decode DTS or DD, as it'll be fed from a DVD player that can do this, but it doesn't matter if it does.

    Does this sort of thing exist anywhere? Basically I'm thinking about changing the decoder that comes with the AegoP5 system. I'm quite happy with the sound quality, but I want to be able to hear SACDs in 5.1! It doesn't have the 5.1 phono inputs! The system uses an active sub and satellites, so I don't want another power amp.
     
  2. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Your best bet would be a low end AV Amp with full pre-outs ... something like the Marantz SR4300 or low end Yamaha. I know it has amps which you don't need ... but your cheepest alternative is a Rotel RSP1066.
     
  3. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't remember if the Rotel 966 has 5.1 inputs, but noticed a few going on ebay.

    It's a huge thing though..

    And I've found it to be very noisy.
     
  4. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback! I'll keep an eye out for a cheapish amp.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Have a look athe Yamaha DSP800 DD/DTS processor may have what you need.
     
  6. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    hornydragon ... yes the E800 is perfect ... but probably would get a cheep Amp or Reciever with full outputs for less ... and would be more flexible to upgrade speakers later. It should also have PLII and many will have extended formats if thats wanted later.

    The E800 is obsolete really ... I beleive even Yamaha have stated this - though they still sell it.

    rhoamish ... take a look at Richer Sounds ... they are having a real clearout sale this Sunday - if you look at their website there are lists of whats going to be for sale at each other thier stores - may be able to find something suitable there - any questions about anything and it's suitability ask here and I'm sure someone will be able to help you.

    Vikki
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ah E800, thats it! i just thought an E800 would make a second hand bargain!
     
  8. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +669
    If it isn't going to be doing any decoding, then why should it matter what sort of digital input(s) it has? Or did you specifically want to use the pre-amp to convert PCM but the player to decode and convert DD/DTS?

    What's your price range?

    Edit: you should probably check out this thread here as well.
     
  9. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, still more help happening! Thanks!

    The DVD player will decode DD, DTS and SACD. I'd quite like an optical input for the PS2, and at least 2 phono inputs for Sky and a Gamecube.

    Prologic or Prologic II would be nice, but not essential. A remote control would be handy too, in fact more handy than prologic!

    My price range is pretty low: I'm hoping for about 100 quid! That's because I'm already happy with the sound, but I'd like to get into SACDs which only work (for some god-foresaken reason) on separate phono outs, rather than digital out.
     
  10. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    SACD is only on 6 phonos because of several reasons ... at least one of which is actually very valid and has no political connotations ... that is that even if you did have a digital output, no current AV amp could decode the signal as it is in DSD format rather than encoded Bitstream (DD and DTS) or PCM (CD).

    With your requirements ... and budget restriction ... you're going to have to look at second hand kit. Any AV amp will do you so long as it has pre-outs for all 6 channels. If you have a Richer Sounds near you ... might be worth checking out if they have anything suitable in their one day clearance on Sunday ... there are PDF lists of what kit is for sale on their web site.

    Vikki
     
  11. Big Ga

    Big Ga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess you mean '6 chan input' as opposed to pre-out ??
     
  12. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Well both if you read the origional post :devil:
    rhoamish wants a preamp to connect SACD (6 inputs) to an existing amp (6 outputs), therefore as stated earlier by sounddog any low end AV amp with 6 channel inputs and Preouts will do the job.
    Yes I know I’m being pedantic, but its Saturday afternoon and I’m stuck at work :mad:

    Mark.
     
  13. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    No you need a 6 channel pre-outs to use it with the Aego P5 system as they are powered speakers. All rhoamish wants to do is replace the processor part.

    Vikki
     
  14. Big Ga

    Big Ga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, sorry, re-read.... its as mark said - both.
     
  15. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    You have my sympathy Mark ... though at least the weathers grotty :) And you're right of course ... needs the 6-channel input too.
     
  16. Big Ga

    Big Ga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, sorry, re-read.... its as mark said - both.
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Rhoamish I have just noticed that their is an E800 in the classifieds for £160 i think might be worth a negotiate as they are only £230 new now.
     
  18. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the help!

    I ended up buying a Yamaha DSP-A595 from Richer Sounds, 150 quid second-hand, but with a 12 month warranty included (which struck me as a bit mad for second-hand kit.)

    I'm well happy: it seems the DTS and DD decoder on my DVD player (Sony DVP-NS900V) are worth using! SACDs are good, too...

    All I need to do now is work out whether my second sub should be connected to the Yamaha sub output, or the Aego sub output...
     

Share This Page

Loading...