1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does this exist?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by vileda, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, :hiya:

    I'm still debating which plasma to get and am looking at the connections on offer.

    Is there such a thing as a Component (3 rca) to VGA (or DVI) converter/cable. If so does anyone have a link.

    Thanks

    Vileda
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You can get a cheap VGA cable by getting a cable from ebuyer.com - a "Belkin Pro Series High Performance 5 BNC Monitor Cable 1.8m" for just over £10 + VAT (Quickfind Code: 28640). This has 5 BNC plugs for the component outputs, usually for connection to expensive component VGA screens. You can either cut the BNC's off and solder some RCA phono jacks, or buy some BNC<>phono adaptors from Maplin Electronics.

    Someone said that you can get the cables cheap from Maplin Electronics too, but I've not seen them.
     
  3. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Nick

    Is`this not a RGBHV > VGA cable? I was hoping for component (3 cable sync on Green) to VGA converter if such a thing exists.

    Alternatively this with a Component to RGBHV converter could work i suppose.
     
  4. boardwalk

    boardwalk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, :hiya:

    try this link Best Stuff they have a couple of different makes on here. I have just purchased the 18.99 lead and it works perfecly. :smashin:

    Dave.
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Component is Y, Pb, Pr - what you want is RGsB to VGA :)
     
  6. boardwalk

    boardwalk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing I forgot to mention is that you must ensure the screen you buy can set VGA input to component to use this cable.

    Dave.
     

Share This Page

Loading...