1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does the SIM2 HT200 need and external de-interlacer?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ReTrO, Jul 22, 2001.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    After reading the specs of the HT200 it seems it has a de-interlacer built in, is it any good, or would replacing it with an IScan Pro be worthwhile?

    Cheers
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I always felt it could do with some help in the deinterlacing department. It was my biggest criticism of the product. Feed the new Arcam PS player into it and I think there may be a formidable combination.
     
  3. simoncope

    simoncope
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the iScan Pro makes a worthwhile difference to the performance of the HT200 - in fact, Owl are pretty much pushing this combination as a standard set-up.

    To be honest I haven't really played with the prog output of the DV27 yet - I am waiting for the PAL version, as this will be of much more use to us. As an aside, the interlaced output of the DV27 is excellent -definitely worth the extra money over a DV88!!
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Rick: All fixed panle projectors have internal de-interlacers as far as I am aware.

    The HT200DM is, at present, best suited to Denon DVD2800 or other units which have brightness and contrast controls.

    Gordon
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Simon: As far as I can see the DV88 and FMJ27 should have identical interlaced outputs. They use the same video board etc.

    There is a distinction between the HT200 and HT200DM in my earlier comment. FMJ27 should be significant update for HT200.

    Gordon
     
  6. simoncope

    simoncope
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was led to believe, but when you actually sit down and do a direct A-B comparison between the two......! I know that Arcam improved the power supply, and altered the main casing, but I don't know if these two items on their own could bring about such an increase in picture quality.
     
  7. simoncope

    simoncope
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why do you say this Gordon? Are you intimating that the HT200DM has no brightness/contrast controls on the progressive component video input? That's a bit strange wouldn't you say!!!
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Hi Simon,

    I'm going to go and compare our fmj27 and dv88 against each other in interlaced mode. Should be interesting. If they are the same then either your dv88 is broken or our fmj27 is. It's a dem I've not done yet so should be interesting.

    Re the HT200DM, no I can assure you it has brightness and contrast controls.

    Gordon
     
  9. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I will do the same tomorrow, I've just received the Fantasia box-set so I'll use that also.

    Just a few q's while i'm on this post.

    With the Cine6 (6ft. wide 16:9 Da-Lite) we will be using the following DVD players:

    Proceed PMDT (poss with PVP card)
    Arcam FMJ DV27 (to be replaced with Linn, as and when...)
    Linn DVD (appearance date anyone? ...guess we'll just have to hassle them until it appears)

    + Linn, Proceed, and Naim AV systems, with B&W, Linn and M&K speakers.

    Any opinions on these? I'm haggling for a Cine7 (Please God...)


    Cheers guys!

    PS There was somting else but I've forgotten it... damn!
     

Share This Page

Loading...