Does the Panasonic e30 record in NTSC

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jools 2001, Dec 21, 2002.

  1. jools 2001

    jools 2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering if anybody knows is it possible
    to record a ntsc signal thru the E30.
    I have a multi sat setup,and when i record a ntsc programme,
    it appears in black and white.
    the sat reciever (echostar dsb 2110) has a built in ntsc decoder
    which will allow me to watch it on my toshiba widescreen tv in colour.
    Do i need to change a setting on thd panny dvd,or am i destined
    to watch any ntsc recordings in good old black and white:(
    I have freeview fed into av1,and my echostar fed into av2.
    i have tried swopping the av connections over with each other,
    but its still recording the ntsc in black and white
    any help/advice greatly appreciated
    jools 2001 ;)
     
  2. Duvel

    Duvel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +3
    The E30 does record NTSC (and a fine job it does too);) .

    You just need to change from Pal to NTSC in the tv dispaly settings on the E30. only thing it won't do is mix a NTSC recording on the same disc as a Pal recording.
     
  3. jools 2001

    jools 2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks m8
    found the settings;)
    have you got any tips for the panny?
     
  4. Duvel

    Duvel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +3
    One thing I have found is that timer recording is not always reliable:( but i believe this to be a media problem as when ever I have used a RAM disc for timer recordings it always works. The problem only seems to appear when using DVD-R. On a few occassions I have missed programs set to record through the night when using DVD-R. I really do think this is down to individual media though as it has happened with Traxdata, Datasafe Classic and FWS discs. It can be a bit annoying as it is very intermitant but now I either use Ram discs or start the recording manually for anything important I want to record. Other users have reported this prob too and the consensus is it's a media problem. I think the only way to avoid this particular prob is get expensive or genuine panasonic DVD-R:(

    The funny thing is when starting the recording manually I haven't had one failure yet with DVD-R and I recorded a fair number of disc now.

    For progs you just want to watch then delete DVD Ram is really very good and the video chasing mode more useful than I thought it would be.
     
  5. jools 2001

    jools 2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks duvel,
    just trying to get me head around
    the panny manual at the moment;)
    are there any dedicated forums for the e30
    that you know of?
    thanks
    jools 2001:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice