1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

does such a 26" lcd exist?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by dsb, Jun 22, 2005.

Tags:
  1. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to sk but... my requirements!

    26-27"
    hi def resolution, HDMI input
    also a vga input

    needs to be able to display a pc via it's vga input at native resolution - i understand certain models will not do this.

    anything out yet that does this?

    i was looking at the sharp ga3 - not HDMI but dvi that supports encryption, but now these seem to be off the market.

    any answers appreciated
     
  2. Mr Jolly

    Mr Jolly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    807
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +184
  3. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'll certainly have a look - thanks!
     
  4. Mr Jolly

    Mr Jolly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    807
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +184
    Glad to be of help - it's a nice looking set. It had a great big HD READY sticker on it and that made me have a closer look.
     
  5. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +393
  6. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
  7. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    did we ever work out if the samsungs would support 50hz 720p over hdmi? - thought someone said certain models didnt - which would make it a bit pointless for sky?
     
  8. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0


    that was the one i was going for - until i read about all the problems people were having here! - the component, buzzing and you cant display vga at the screens native resolution?
     
  9. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
    I haven't personally checked, but I've read that other people have tested, and it supports 50Hz and 60Hz on all video modes.

    I forgot to mention that it's HDMI (takes DVI w/adapter) VGA for PC, Component, RGB SCART, and your other regular connectors too.
     
  10. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well that does sound promising!
    so... have you (or anyone) tried connecting a pc via the vga? - if so would it allow you to run it at the screens native res?
    i'm one of those people who hates a lcd running at non native res - as i always tell the folk at work with their terminals set to 1024x768 rather than 1280x1024 :)
     
  11. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
    I've had it running at native off my Powerbook since I got it. :D

    It's 1366x768 native, but as video cards can only output in multiples of 8, you have to do 1360x768. However Samsung were smart, and the TV leaves a 3px gap either side, which is very hard to see, rather than scaling the image. If you put in 1024x768, it's also doing 1:1 mapping, but in a 4:3 ratio.

    It looks incredible as a monitor, and the 26" will let you get closer, as there's smaller pixels. I also hooked it up to my old PC and tried out the Doom 3 / HL2 demos on it at native res, which was just jaw-dropping, even with most settings at their lowest.
     
  12. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    wonderful - thanks!
    will have to visit the shops at the weekend to see it in the flesh.
     
  13. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    FAO Andrewfee, how do you hook your screen up to you pwerbook? What connection. Ive got an iBook and have been using svideo (Converted using apples video converter) but its very blurry. what should I use?
     

Share This Page

Loading...