Does Sky TV use geostationary or polar satellites in space?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by av12, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. av12

    av12
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just wondering.
     
  2. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    Probably geostationary, as the satellites remain in constant orbit, so that the viewer gets a constant signal.

    Polar orbits are sued by Spy Satellites (not sure), as they can complete an orbit around the earth very quickly, multiple times a day, and have coverage over the entire planet for a short period of time per sq mile, as they are in constant motion/orbit.
     
  3. Iccz

    Iccz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Keystone City
    Ratings:
    +6,750
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sky_Digital_(UK_&_Ireland)

    SES Astra - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  4. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    Definitely in geostationary orbit - also known as the "Clarke belt" (after Arthur C Clarke who came up with the idea around 1937 ISTR).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     

Share This Page

Loading...