1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does SKY+ digibox output RGB Sync on G (RGsB)?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Eye in the sky, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. Eye in the sky

    Eye in the sky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tot I will post this thread here so maybe I can cast my net further to get the answer.

    I can't find the answers anywhere. Maybe I did not look hard enough.

    Can someone tell me if the SKY+ digibox output RGB with SYNC on G??? When I switch the video output to RGB does it output RGsB???

    Thanks.
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi,

    The Sky digiboxes output RGB with sync on composite. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  3. Eye in the sky

    Eye in the sky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    is there any way where the SKY+ digibox can be programmed or flashed to output RGB SYNC on G?
     
  4. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    No idea, I'm afraid. What is the display you want to connect to?

    Steve
     
  5. Eye in the sky

    Eye in the sky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    its a Panny PHD7 plasma. The Panny component Video terminal board supports RGsB.
     
  6. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Sounds like to need a RGB2VGA converter...
     
  7. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Eye in the Sky - (must be a chopper pilot or CCTV operator :))

    As others have said the SCART output on your Digibox is RGB+Composite sync.

    If you have the TY-42TM6YB Board installed in your Display you can add in either the JS Technology RGB2VGA (5 core) or RGB2YUV (3 core) connector and cable set.

    The RGB2VGA (RGBHV) is slightly sharper than RGB2YUV - though you have less control of the colours on the VGA input and the YUV converter gives you the option of switching the signal via a suitable AV Receiver if you have multiple YUV signals.

    Another option is to go for an external Video Processor - much more expensive but gives you far better video processing than the on-board processor in the Display.

    A Lumagen VisionDVI at SRP £815.00 should be your starting point and this accepts an RGB+Composite sync signal so all that's required is a straightforward SCART to 4RCA cable.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...