does RDR-GXD500 do progressive scan

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stevie_velvet, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. stevie_velvet

    stevie_velvet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One for RDR-GXD500 Owners, can you see this features ?, does it work

    A number of internet review specify it does yet equal number doesn't mention the feature.

    WhatVideo Jan05, Page 30 : No Prgressive Scan

    HomeCinemaChoice Jan05 Page 114 : PAL/NTSC Progressive Scan)

    ------------------

    In the January Sales, i I plan to couple it with the progressive scan capable Philips 37PF9986 LCD to get the max out of tha montior via the Component Video Outputs, a PC to he respective DVI, connect up a Cambridge Audio 540 Receiver, and maybe some wireless speakers

    If no progressive scan I'll wait for the Toshiba HD DVD Digital Tuner unit in May 05, which i hear is already onsale & kicking up a fuss with it's 160GB DVD-RAM DVD-R spec, have no info on Progressive

    thanks in advance
    ------------------
    Stevie Velvet (Ms.)
     
  2. stevie_velvet

    stevie_velvet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    confirmed, it DOES NOT ~ where they get the feature from i do not know
     
  3. stevie_velvet

    stevie_velvet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh it get's better ~ a colleague receives a email from Sony saying the following :
    ----------------------
    am pleased to confirm that the RDR-GXD500 has a component output
    (required
    for progressive scan). As your TV has progressive scan capabilities you
    will
    be able to view movies in this format.
    ---------------------

    If this DVD-Recorder does have Progressive Scan capabilities and is clear in the Marketing, then those who don't require a Hard Drive or iLink (Firewire) connectivity would love this model especially as it has a DVB Tuner

    ...So does ANYONE have a RDR-GXD500 to confirm ???????
    ------------------
    Stevie Velvet (Ms.)
     
  4. Betamax_man

    Betamax_man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +9
  5. JamesL

    JamesL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    The GXD500 does NOT have progressive scan. It DOES have a component connection but that doesn't it can do PS!
     
  6. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,937
    Where did yo hear it has a digital tuner built in?
     
  7. stevie_velvet

    stevie_velvet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    what is the difference between the 500 and the 300 model?
     
  9. JamesL

    JamesL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    The GX300 has an analogue tuner and progressive scan. The GXD500 has a Digital (freeview) tuner and no progressive scan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...