1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does pw7 hdmi board work in pw6?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bjcol, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. bjcol

    bjcol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Could anyone tell me if the Panasonic HDMI input board for the pw7 will work on the pw6(which I have)? I have seen from postings that people are starting to receive their HDMI boards that were on order and wondered if anyone had tried this combination yet.

    Thanks in advance.

    Ben
     
  2. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe, if you are good at reverse engineering :D
     
  3. bjcol

    bjcol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    I notice that many of the other inputs boards for the pw7 are exactly the same models as the pw6 ones so I reckon theres a good chance, they must have identical size / connections. Anyone know?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes I know. Definitely not.
     
  5. bjcol

    bjcol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info.
     
  6. Andrew_P_S

    Andrew_P_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...doesn't even work in a pw7.... !
     
  7. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25

    ?? :confused: ??
     
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Panasonic board work in one generation of plasma to another? You're having a giraffe mate.

    I can tell you now that Series 8 board won't work in Series 7 screens either.

    Build in redundancy is Panasonic strategy, they would rather you upgrade whole new screen than just card. :)

    StooMonster
     
  9. Andrew_P_S

    Andrew_P_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Sorry - flipant remark!

    ...borne out of the frustration that the HDMI board for the 7 series will not support the European 50Hz HD broadcasts..... possibly
     
  10. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    I gathered... ;) You got a PW7 then?
     
  11. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Got a Panny 50" Series 5 where only digital signal is 1024x768@60Hz -- whereas analogue supports almost everything, and internal frame-buffer supports 48Hz, 50Hz, 60Hz and doesn't mess about.

    Watched with interest as Series 6 and Series 7 have poor digital signal support, and wondering if Series 8 will be better. If any of these offered native 1366x768 @ 50Hz and 48Hz (for NTSC movies with no nasty 3:2 pull-down judder) I would've upgraded my screen in a flash.

    Now my upgrade criteria includes higher resolution, I want 1920x1080 plasma with 50Hz and 60Hz support on digital inputs. :devil:

    StooMonster
     

Share This Page

Loading...