1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Fujitsu P42VHA30 hav DVI input?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Uzey, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. Uzey

    Uzey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas anyone?
     
  2. Fishbones

    Fishbones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Madeira
    Ratings:
    +1
    Only the US versions have DVI apparently. That is what I was told by the sales person when I demoed this unit.
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    DVI is not on the US version. EU law is about to jack up the price on 'monitors' with DVI, they will be re classified as TV's and will carry the 14% tariff. No official word, but I'm sure this is fuji's game.
     
  4. Timmy B

    Timmy B
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW it is on the US version
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Typo mate, I meant UK, hence eu import tariff reference.
     
  6. Timmy B

    Timmy B
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah sorry, I did think you knew that.:smashin:
     
  7. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Great plasma though.......:clap:

    Even my ' I don't like all this home cinema stuff' missus said it's the best plasma she's seen of the ones I dragged her to look at:smashin:
     
  8. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    mikeaitch,
    How long have you had the VHA30 for?
    Which screens did you compare it to?
    Can you give us your thoughts on the pro's and con's of the screen? (Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese!)

    Thanks
     
  9. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    and give us an update about the TV PQ on it ?

    thanx !
    DG
     
  10. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Guys

    Got it this week, only had it up and running for the last 3 days so no chance yet to Avia it or do any serious tweaking.

    Compared it to Panny 6, Pioneer 433/434, Hitachi 500 series. Wanted to include NEC42X2 but nobody in the country could give me a demo.

    Initial thoughts- Stay away from the Natural mode! if you use the fine mode the picture improves hugely.

    Does very well with less than perfect sources, since this is going into the lounge, that was important to me.

    Motion handled better than the others including the Panny on which it's based, and no real sign of the dreaded flicker.

    There is definitely huge potential with this screen- Having recommended/installed a PW6 for a friend I can honesly say that IMO the futjitsu offers a better overall package than the Panny,

    DVD via component_ WOW!!!! Very solid colours for a sdef plasma and very 3D feel to the pictures.

    Interestingly, my old Toshiba 330 gave a very impressive picture using interlaced component, I'll have to do some comparisons with the Pioneer 565 using progressive scan and without- it could be that the processing in the plasma is better than that of the players.

    Using the freeview box (Pace twin) gives a very respectable picture, although I think it would improve if I had routed a scart for RGB. Using s-video into a converter for the scart input

    When I get the chance to have a serious play, I'll post my thoughts, but it'll not compare to some of the technical reviews you'll read elsewhere!! That said I'll try to describe in whatever way I can what I see.

    Very happy with my purchase so far. Girlfriend loves it now its here

    Hope this helps
     
  11. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanx for the update !

    Please post a picture from your setup on the ' get your plasmas out for the lads ' thread, I would love to soo yours, there isn't a single Fujitsu plasma screen pictured in that thread.

    CHeers,

    david
     
  12. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Will do!

    Now I'll have to admit I don't know exactly how to post pictures:blush:
     
  13. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    just make a picture in jpeg format, less than 640 KB . And when you post you can add an image or upload it to http://photobucket.com/ and paste the url, it's easy.
    I am very curious :)
     
  14. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    Mike , can you put your picture up please ?

    Dave
     
  15. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Sorry- pics taken, lost my download lead :blush:

    Should be up tomorrow or fri
     
  16. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
  17. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Sod it!! posted the wrong one! Look at the link instead.

    I'll put it in the right thread , get your plasmas... next anyway.

    Hope your curiosity is satisfied Davegilmour:hiya:
     
  18. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mike,
    Your screen looks great! :smashin: :clap:

    Whats your verdict now that youve had a little while?
    Is there any buzzing or humming coming from the screen?
    Also, whats it like with analogue & digital tv?

    Thanks
    :thumbsup:
     
  19. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13


    Thanks Mike !

    What a coincidence... I have just ordered 5 Gallo Micros Stainless ones as well..... and the Fujitsu will be ordered soon :)
    It looks GREAT !!!!!!!!!!
     
  20. platty2890

    platty2890
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +11
    fujitsu releasing new plasma in the summer with hdmi both 42" & 50"
     
  21. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    platty2890,
    where did you get that info from?
    Any idea of the model number?
     
  22. platty2890

    platty2890
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +11
    sevenoaks no model no. but only told because current ones dont have a dvi/hdmi input so i asked went fujitsu would have one
     
  23. Fishbones

    Fishbones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Madeira
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also heard a rumour that Fujitsu was going to start using Samsung glass :eek:
    Can anyone confirm this.
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I can confirm both rumours, a VHA and VCA31 will be samsung based. DVI will be not in my definition of summer, 4th Q. VHA30 will continue till then.
     
  25. Fishbones

    Fishbones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Madeira
    Ratings:
    +1
    :rolleyes: So it's Fujitsu with Samsung glass AND a 14% price increase due to DVI.
     
  26. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Er, not sure! The samsung expected soon is NOT the HDMI model, I assume it's intended as a budget model. I'm told it's very much better than it has any right to be, and not to pre-judge it. They will continure to use panasonic glass in some models, it's all a bit nebulous except the VHA31, samsung based and no DVI
     
  27. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Thanks Guys:smashin:

    Davidgilmour-

    I'm VERY happy!!!!:D

    No buzzing, I'm only using freeview, so can't comment on analogue, but the Futjitsu rewards good programming with a very clear, easily watchable pic, very little flicker if at all, whilst not condemning less than good feeds with over processing.

    The only gripe is some solarisation I saw during a very poor transmission, couldn't say whether this was when the g/f switched the mode to 'natural' as I had to go out.

    As I bought this mainly to satisfy aesthetic needs, and keep her happy, I'm suprised to find myself watching more and more via plasma rather than projector- Most unexpected!!! Not that the pj won't be my 1st choice tho...

    All in all, I'm glad I bought when I did since the Samsungs I've seen have left a lot to be desired on the PQ front - I wonder if all that 6th vs 7th generation uproar hastened their departure from Panasonic ?
     
  28. DPF

    DPF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just purchased 42VHA30 (in Aust) comes with DVI-D port.

    User manual supplied with VHA30 also included VHA31 specs, only difference between 30 & 31 was current (as in power) rating 3.5 - 1.35 A (VHA30) 4.2 - 1.7 A (VHA31).

    Specs did not include contrast/brightness etc only size, resolution, connections etc. No mention anywhere obviously of who's glass is used in any of the models.

    Also included spec on P55XHA30 (1366x768), this and VHA31 are not available in Aust at momment.

    edited to add:- all models have /A at end of model number to indicate Australia I assume.
     
  29. M@tt_UK

    M@tt_UK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello mikeaitch


    I love the way you have recessed your plasma, very nice.

    Can I ask a couple of questions please?

    How did you attach the plamsa to the wall mount, there seems so little room around the screen is it a special type of wall mount?

    Could it create a cooling problem with a Plasma recessed?

    Thanks
     
  30. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    M@tt

    No, I used a standard mount, the type that most people use, there is enough room all the way round for my fingers to grip the plasma firmly, there only needs to be1 1/2 inches or so.

    The most difficult part is pugging in the leads, but with a recess you can get a friend to hold one end whilst the other end of the plasma rest on a piece of cloth in the recess itself for protection which lets you pug in to our heart's content.

    No cooling problems on my screen hsve been found, don't know about other makes

    Go for it!:smashin:
    Here is a better pic:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...