1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does dvd record in up to 530 lines, or more?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Tunes Man, Apr 24, 2003.

1. Tunes Man

Tunes Man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been reading lately about the resolution that dvd records in and I guess I'm still unsure how much resolution it can record in.
    I own some Panasonic dvd recorder decks,(E30, E20 & HS-2), and as far as I know,(and I'm no expert), since they're basically digital
    recorders they should record from my digital camcorder exactly the
    same resolution that the camera produced, right? In other words they should produce a picture that's just as good as you would get if you downloaded it on your computer, correct?
    I'm still learning about these products and have yet to know all of
    the specs and resolution terms that they have to offer. I own a Sony VX2000 and Sony claims that their VX can record a picture that's up to 530 lines of resolution. That means that when I download my video onto my HS-2 through a firewire cable, it should also be 530 lines, right? And after I edit it on it's hard drive
    and then burn it onto the final dvd-r disc, that final disc should also be up to 530 lines, if I'm to understand the workings of digital
    products that is.
    By the same token, if I had a camcorder that could record in up to
    600 lines of resolution and then download it onto one of these dvd recorders, they would also record in up to 600 lines, right?
    Thanks for any responses. Tunes Man.

2. TommyVecetti

TommyVecetti

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    PAL DVD is about 575 lines or something max.

Only if you record onto your DVD-R using a high bitrate, probably xp mode. The resolution gets less when you use less bits per sec.