• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Does anyone think the price of Tosh 42XV635DB go down this Christmas or January?

ID_1

Standard Member
Hi guys and gals,

I am a newbie here so forgive me if I ask a daft question. I am thinking of getting a Toshiba 42 inch xv635db LCD TV. It is going for £649 at Comet and John Lewis, but as it is so close to christmas and january, does anyone think the price will go down or stay about the same?

I am a student so I am being a bit tight with money.

Thanks in advance.

pabulous

Established Member
It's actually gone down to £579 on Amazon. :) Pretty great price, I shall be ordering it myself soon.

vickster

Distinguished Member
Can't see it dropping below the £479 with cashback, after all there aren't any other comparable 42s under £500 and sterling is struggling again.

Certainly don't buy it from Comet if the price is the same as John Lewis with 5 year warranty :eek:

eatthehorns

Standard Member
Having researched TVs for many weeks online and in showrooms and monitoring prices all the way, I finally took the plunge and bought the 42XV635DB online from John Lewis for £649 (inc. delivery and the all-important 5yr warranty). They were out of stock for a while and I nearly made do with my second choice of DigitalDirect @ £615 (inc. delivery and 3yr warranty). That £615 price by the way, takes into account the £100 cashback offer from Toshiba that ends on Nov 11th (Details here: Toshiba LCD TV Cashback) Note that only the listed sellers are participating in the £100 cashback offer.