1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does anyone make shallow depth TV's?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by buns, May 25, 2003.

  1. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want a new tv, prob 32 inch. Not an expensive one as it will only be for sky use and occasional gaming. £600 is probably as far as i'd go so i guess im looking at the screen that were good a year ago. I do have one problem, It cant be enormously deep! It will be within a cupboard which has doors which close, the back cannot be removed! So it really needs to be less deep from extremity to extremity than 535mm....... i had a quick look about and stat looks to be a fraction smaller than most, so can anyone tell me a half reasaonable tv which might fit the bill?

    many thanks

    Ad
     
  2. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For that depth - I think you'll have to make it a 28".
    All the 32" sets seem to start at about 540mm deep at least [most of them being more] - and you should leave a gap at the back for ventilation anyway.
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    the ventillation thing was put to me by evilmudge...... if i have airflow as provided by a fan, and a whole load of room either side, would it be ok?

    ad
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    As heat rises i would say agap at the top pretty essential!
    You could set up some fans to blow air through the case. That should be enough to keep it to within operating temps and turning off properly (not standby) when not in use will also help! as for a shallow TV i dunno i guess either walk round currys with a tape measure or read lots of specs. Could youhave a small over hang at the front? If i remember TV Tube design a non flat screen should not be as deep as a flat so look at more budget/older models
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was wanting to have it in a cupboard which closes over which would make an overhang a problem. Top ventillation is currently in place as is a (loud) extraction system since the cupboard is my current projector house. Getting airflow really shouldnt be an issue by the time i get fans running (though i dont know which ones yet) that is assuming the head isnt coming directly out the back????

    ad
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks :D

    ad
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Is that all i get?
     

Share This Page

Loading...