1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does anyone know the size of bannana plugs used on the back of Home Cinema amps?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by MuffKing, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the amp, a Panasonic SA-XR25
    [​IMG]

    I've tried using 2mm and 4mm bannana plugs (below), but 2mm is to small & 4mm is to large.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    In general they should be 4mm plugs. I've certainly not come across any major variations from that lately.
     
  3. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I'm amazed you missed this one John, the caps are still in the sockets :D

    Muffking you need to lever out the black plastic caps from the center of the four screwdown terminals, this will reveal some lovely 4mm sockets for you to use :smashin:

    Cheers, Mylo :smoke:
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Can't see that on my monitor, I've got it set very dark so it's easier to look at Office programs with :)

    As mylo said, if the caps are still in then you just need to lever them out and you should have some nice 4mm sockets. Strangely, those binding posts look the same as on my Denon 1802 so I should really have noticed :rolleyes: They're a real pain to get bare wire in so I'm not surprised you want to move up to bananas!
     
  5. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish it was that easy, but i've already had the 2mm plugs in the sockets as there are no caps in there, but it's like ringing a bell if you know what I mean ;)

    Mylo: Do you have kids that watch to much Tweenies by any chance :)
     
  6. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I was Mylo first though:laugh: comes from Myles
    I hate that program but my nieces and nephews love it :mad: :laugh: .

    From the pic it definately looks like the caps are in, they are a few mm long so you need to lever them out using a small screwdriver or similar. Give one a try and you may be surprised. I was caught out by this on my first amp :blush:
     
  7. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am so not worthy :smashin:
    I stuck a screw in there to pull the hollow black plastic insulator out in the end.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    sweet :smashin: glad to of service :thumbsup:
     
  9. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers mate. I just need to get some decent speaker cable now, and then eventually some decent speakers as i'll be moving house between now and xmas.

    I don't suppose you know if there are such things as plasma wall brackets which allow me to mount my Panasonic 42PA20 in the corner of the living room do you, as the only other place to wall mount it would be on the chimney breast in the middle of the room, but I don't know if it's safe to mount a plasma TV above a fireplace???
     
  10. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I'm afraid not dude, but if you post a thread in the Plasma forum or the DIY one someone will almost definately be able to help you.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Muff king ave a look here:http://www.futureautomation.co.uk/Site4/Products/Pages/PS.htm mounts flat and pulls out to corner....!!! few other types available and there is a silver type one MAW has details on... ALso you can mount above a fire but need to make sure it suitbale older gas fires are a pain as heat goes straight up... NEw ones are designed to push heat 1-2m from grate into the room.. Plasma above these is fine...
     
  12. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    You can buy plasma mounts with articulating arms for corner fixing

    Adrenochrome.
     
  13. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
  14. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hornydragon: I like the idea of mounting it above the fireplace. I'd consider changing the fire with moving into a new home and I know of a sparky who has the tools to chase the cables into the wall and fit a protective cover before having it replastered.

    Cheers Adrenochrome, £270 for this looks good. I'll perhaps show you guys some pics when I've decided which way to go.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    MUFF see the get your plasmas out for lads thread and get some pics on there...
     
  16. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah i spent hours last night browsing through the 80 odd pages installs and saved them to my PC
     
  17. Rbox

    Rbox
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with a Pioneer VSX-916. The speaker screws have a HARD plastic hollow center piece in them. Should I pull them out or just use bare wire connections. Pioneer help line didn't know this either.
     
  18. Luckypunk

    Luckypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Muffking

    I am in the same boat as you and will shortly be mounting my 37" LCD above my fire place. I'm just assuming I will have sufficient protection from the mantlepiece wich extends a full 300mm from the chimney breast wall.

    However, I have still gone and purchased a bracket that may suit your needs, mainly because I want to be able to swivel the TV to face either side of the room. (This bracket also tilts as well +/- 15 degrees).

    I've done extensive research on this and the lowest price I had found was £170 for one suitable to hold the weight of my LCD. But this one, from a very reputbale seller on ebay, comes in at £85!!!!! P&P is £15 with insurance.

    The bracket will hold plasma/LCD up to 60" and 75kg. I only bought mine yesterday and so am currently waiting for it to arrive but i'm very confident its a really good deal.

    Hope this is some help mate.
     
  19. Luckypunk

    Luckypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. andykn

    andykn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +231
    If you mount over a fireplace it'll be very high up for a TV screen.

    I'd give it a try at that height for a couple of days first.
     
  21. dazzarooney

    dazzarooney
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you need to solder the banana plugs to your speaker cable or are they grub screwed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...