1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does a plasma have to be grounded (electricity)?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Marco1972, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to buy a LG 42px3RV any day now. Does anyone know if it is absolutely necessary to ground a plasma?

    There are no grounded electric outlets near the place i want to place my plasma.

    Any one who can give me some good advice?
    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. timdawe

    timdawe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the PV500 manual:

    "To prevent electric shock, ensure the grounding pin on the AC cord power plug is securely connected."​

    and

    "WARNING: – THIS APPARATUS MUST BE EARTHED."​

    I guess it may vary from screen to screen, but it seems likely that earthing (aka grounding) will be recommended.
     
  3. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for yor reply
     
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    probably sticking my head in a noose, but

    You can get away without earth.

    Not really recommended, though.

    Having said that, a pole 8ft long jabbed into the ground might do :rolleyes:
     
  5. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,392
    It can be left without an earth but you need to remember that an earth has nothing to do with the appliance.

    It's not necessary in any way, shape or form for appliances to have an earth in regards to making it work, however. If there was a fault and the casing of the tv became live for whatever reason, it may kill you when you touch it.

    The earths there for safety so personally, I wouldn't take the risk.
     
  6. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to ground it! Don't want to take any risk.... :)
     
  7. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to ground it! Don't want to take any risk.... :)
     
  8. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,685
    Don't all sockets have to be grounded ? or are you not in the UK
    Just curious
    John
     
  9. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    He's not in the UK.

    Holland, I think, so maybe 110v, which doesn't kill :smashin:
     
  10. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,685
    Thought as much . Most electrical items are double earthed these days anyway (box in a box symbol), arent they . In the EU anyway

    John
     
  11. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    In Holland as the rest of Europe is 220V`50HZ.
    You just need to use grounded contact (socket).
    See attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Not all of them. The majority of plasma TV's have "switched mode" power supplies which can give a leakage current to earth. Although this current in normal usage might only provide a small "tingle" if the ground is not connected, if a fault condition were to occur, the chassis could become live with fatal consequences if not earthed.

    Most double insulated devices (I think that's what you are referring to) have plastic cases, but because plasma TV's are so heavy and can be wall mounted, a metal chassis is a must, and must be earthed.
     
  13. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all your replies. You are right about me living in Holland... :)
    I am now certain that I will earth my LG 42PX3RV that I will be buying in a few weeks.
    Stainway, you have a 3RV I believe, still happy with it? I noticed some green stripes through the image on a 3RV in the Mediamarkt in Amsterdam. Have you noticed things like that?
     
  14. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Marco, I am also In Holland.
    I am very happy with the PX3RV-now is more then 400 hours and the PQ is better then at the begin. You have to make sure that you are going to use digital signal,(via the cable,KPN or sat.) as i guess in the mediamarkt they are using crap signal. I have sat. receiver and the PQ on normal view TV is almost as DVD watching
    But anyway in Holland you get 2 year on site warranty- so do not worry that much. See www.kieskeurig.nl for some opinions and prices.
     
  15. Marco1972

    Marco1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks...
     
  16. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,392
    Hmmmm, I think you were joking, I certainly hope so. :rolleyes:

    It's not the voltage that kills you anyway, it's the current. Unless the voltage gets really high, in which case it burns you to death before the current can stop your heart. :lesson:

    110 might only be half the european voltage but get a shock off it and it's just as likely to kill you. :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...