1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doens't the Series 5 Panasonci have an 'orbiter' mode

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jon Weaver, Oct 26, 2002.

  1. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,047
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    I am sure that I read that the new Series 5 Panasonic has an 'orbiter' mode, to moke the image around by a few pixels to avoid 'screen burn'.

    I have been looking through the manual of my Toshiba 42PW27 (same as Series 5 Panny) and can't find any mention of it at all.

    Is this a feature which is on all the time, or does the P5 not do this?
     
  2. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    jon the older toshiba has a wobble setting thats moves the pixells a bit to help
    its not listed in the normal menu you have to use the special menu to get to it
    high light the osd in the setup menu then hold the surround button down on the control
    it might not be the same on yours though
     
  3. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Jon,

    Jmack is correct, you can access the wobbling feature in the advanced options menu as he said by:-

    Pressing Setup
    Highlight OSD
    Hold the surround button for a few seconds

    Wobbling is the first option, but don't change anything else in there. I've seen posts of people disabling their remote control by changing options in this menu that shouldnt be changed.

    John.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    steelej

    Good advice - be careful when you start messing about with some of the settings in the hidden menus; or have a PC and the ability to generate RS232 code handy if you do manage to switch off the IR input.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS I'd lay a bet we have not seen (heard) the 'last post' from Jon - just wait until he finds 'gamma' control in the menu's!!!
     
  5. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,047
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    :)

    I was surprised to find that you already have access to 'white balance' and 'gamma' in the normal 'advanced menu'.

    With regards to turning the 'wobble' feature off.. DOes that mean that its ON by default?

    Don't worry about me fiddling.. Thats not one of my traits.. I will look, but I wont touch, unless I know EXACTLY what each option does.

    I have been playing with the service menu on my Sony CRT for years, but when I started, I took photographs of EVERY screen, so that I had a record of the 'out of the box' settings.
     
  6. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the toshiba has the wobble set to off straight out the box
    if you wont be fiddling jon you wont want to know how to access the hour counter menu.
     
  7. yapota

    yapota
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been desperately trying to find the
    hours counter. Any help you can provide would be apprecaited
     
  8. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yapota you have a pm
     
  9. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,047
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    jmack,

    Of course i want to know!! I don't intend to fiddle, but I will still like to know.

    So, if possible, please send me the info too.

    Thanks
     
  10. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    jon you have pm too
     
  11. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK Jmack, I can't have all these guys knowing and not me :) Could you do the honours

    John.
     
  12. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i will post it here i did not find this myself i copied it from a thread in the us forums
    i have done it on mine a number of times
    maybe we should ask joe f if its safe to do
    i dont want to mess any ones plasma up

    hold the volume button on the panell in while pressing the button under the power button (the status button) 3 times very fast



    another thing if you high light the sd mode then sellect it tells you how many times you have powerd on and off the panell and even better an hour meter i thing the hours are on the right PT and the on/off meter WT is on the left ,
    i dont know what the rest of the stuff is

    PLEASE BE CARFULL IN THERE
     
  13. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine is WT 498 PT 205 i have had the plasma about 11 weeks
     
  14. yapota

    yapota
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jmack

    Thanks for your help. my PT read 562 and WT reads 670. I have had the Plasma for 12 weeks now. One more question, I have watched a fair bit of widescreen material and now I am finding that when I go to the Image Reversal screensaver I can see the bottom edge. Is there any way of clearing that completely ?

    Thanks

    yapota
     
  15. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi just set wobble to on after reading this thread,what i want to know is how effective is it, also image reversal for instance if i am playing mp3 from my dvd player with an mp3 menu on screen if i use image reversal to view the menu is this safe will it stop the menu burning on to my screen.
     
  16. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I posted another thread on this but have gotten no answer so I´ll try my luck here.
    Does the panasonic wd have only 480 lines of vertical resolution? So from a pal 625 signal there are 576 active lines.. and therefor you will be loosing atleast 96 lines of resolution.. is that the really case??

    And on another note... do any plasmas have teletext?
     
  17. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I checked the hour meter just curious, but a question, I couldn;t get the service menu to go away, I just had to switch the panel off, is this how it's normally dismissed or can you do it with a button on the remote?

    John.
     
  18. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i go back and high light the sd mode then turn the panell off using the remote
     

Share This Page

Loading...