1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dodgy DVI

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by adieboy, May 29, 2005.

1. adieboy

adieboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,
    I've just tried connecting my Radeon 9600XT to my projector via DVI. All I get is a flickery, low-res (840x380?) image.
    "Display properties" only offers this resolution.
    I've never used DVI before, as this is the first time I've had a suitable display.
    I've just purchased Gary Lightfoot's NEC HT1000- he was running an almost identical hardware configuration- same graphics card, cable, etc.
    Any ideas, Guys???

Cheers Adie

2. bigfatsi

bigfatsi
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully someone will come along and help you soon. Have you tried something like powerstrip?

3. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    It should work fine with the standard 1024 x 768 which is what I was using.

Have you tried installing the latest ATI drivers? I wonder if that might help.

Also try it without the vga connected so that it only sees the DVI connection. That might force it to look at the NEC and decide what resolutions it should be using. How have you got the ATI panel configured for displays? I had it set to use alt F5 to switch between them as in the past having two running at the same time would cause problems (That was a later driver issue as it wasn't a problem with previous drivers).

Other than the cable being iffy, I can't think of anything else right now. VGA worked perfectly didn't it?

Gary.

4. adieboy

adieboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Gary,

I must be honest, I haven't tried any other drivers, just the generic Catalyst ones - I'll try Sapphire's next.