1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Documentation for your setup?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by BestGear, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi Folks

    I have been meaning to document the setup & connections within my AV kit....

    I could do with a Visio of it all... but have never seen a template or style sheet type of thing for AV kit.

    Anyone got any ideas to make this easier?

    I am not artistic, and have limited patience for faffing around, so Visio is really my limit I guess!

    I did see a neat diagram in one of th AV comics that showed how to connect things up - that would be a good base for the picture....

    There must be something around specifically targeted at this kinda thing - what do the professionals use!??!

    DJ
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    If I understand you correctly, a flowchart program or similar would do the trick for you.

    RF Flow is my personal favourite as it's simple but absolutely packed with images.
    Trial version here: http://www.rff.com/download.htm
     
  3. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi...

    Yip - looks like a cut down visio for flowcharts...

    I was hoping that something with more "graphic" detail would turn up...

    I guess no one has documented anything!!

    D
     
  4. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    DJ,
    Have a look at the D:Tools website. http://www.d-tools.com/demos.html D:Toosl is what most of the professional installers use in the US/UK. The web link should take you to the demo page and Sample Drawings & Reports. Take a look at the schematic sample.

    You should be able to recreate this in visio with a bit of luck.
    Paul
     
  5. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Pemberto!!

    Thank you VERY much for that link - it is exaclt what I was looking for!!

    You can see why I was reluctant to do it in Visio when there must be something out there that was designed for the job..... either that or my Visio skills are sadly lacking!

    Now I guess I need to go see how much of a sore bottom the license fee is....

    DJ
     
  6. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    AGH!!!!

    Did you see what they want for a license!?!?!?

    AND - it needs Visio to run... he he ....

    Guess that might be a no then...unless I take them up on thier free 30 day no risk offer....

    DJ
     
  7. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Sorry mate, forgot to say its not cheap. I ended up using Excel and a very large sheet of paper.
    I used excel to build the input/output boxes for each component, printed them out and stuck them on an A0 sheet of paper and then added the connecting lines. As you can see in my sig list I have a few bits of gear so it was a bit of a job.

    The other way may be to use visio and have multiple sheets that only show one layer of connection. So one sheet for audio conections and one sheet for video.

    Hope that helps.
    Paul
     
  8. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi

    I guess layers in Visio will be the way forward...

    I just liked that picture I saw in one fo the HC comics... looked nice too!!

    I have 11 AV sources... plus 3 audio only sources so its mahem round the back... (so to speak...) Most have multiple paths, ie analogue and PCM audio and some have Composite, component and SVideo connected up too... AGH!!!!


    D
     
  9. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi D,

    If only we had those big purpose built av rooms like the US, using those Mid Atlantic racks with all that neat and tidy cabling.

    But if we had all that, what would we do.....

    Paul
     
  10. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Yip - I could do with a bigger room for sure... and nice cable managed racks would be a bonus.

    Do you subscribe to the US Home Theatre mag? there is an advert for revolving racks every month....
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Cedia have a Visio tool set for AV connections (members only) but i think there is an option for custom connections/symbols.
     
  12. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bit basic, but I did these with Paint.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +45
    Yeh! thats neat!

    Bet it took you a while!!

    So, who do we know that would have the CEDIA set he he ....

    D
     

Share This Page

Loading...