1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dobly pro-logic on a lcd/plasma ?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by grizz, May 4, 2004.

  1. grizz

    grizz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    As this is my first post, i'll only ask one Q for the moment, but I would imagine there will be some more as I get into it.

    At the moment I have a Beko 32" telly with in built Dobly Pro-Logic, due to my good lady wanting to use the space for shelves she asked for a rethink on telly's, we have done some looking and we both like the LCD & Plasmas 37", I'll do some more reading on which type later, but i carnt find any with inbuilt Dolby Pro-Logic.

    Do LCD and/or Plasmas units have this fitted?

    will i have to rethink again?

    My setup at the mo is:-
    Samsung home thearter
    Sony vcr
    Pace analogue satellite receiver ms1000ip (drives my sat system)
    Samsung digital reciver (not sky)
    Nokia ondigi reciver(for freeview)

    All are scarted through a quintrino (something like that)

    Thank you for your time

    Regards
    G
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    "Samsung Home Theatre"

    Is this some type of surround sound amplifier/DVD combo? With 5 speakers etc?

    If yes - then I guess you can use this to give you your surround effects (including Dolby Digital, ProLogic etc) and you don't need it to be fitted in your TV.

    AFAIK, there aren't (yet) any flat panels with DPL or DD onboard. But, as I say, maybe you don't need it anyway.
     
  3. grizz

    grizz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the reply.

    Yes, that's the one.

    Now to re-read the samsung manual again to see how it's done.

    Many thanks again :)

    Regards
    G
     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Seems likely, then, that the Home Theatre thingy will have at least one external stereo input which will be selectable from the remote.

    Depending on whether it has just one, or several, you may need some sort of switching box (is that what you meant by quintrino (something like that)?) so that all the other sources viz:

    Sony vcr
    Pace analogue satellite receiver ms1000ip (drives my sat system)
    Samsung digital reciver (not sky)
    Nokia ondigi reciver(for freeview)

    and, optionally the TV (ie for regular analog TV only) can all be connected to the external stereo input.

    And then, away you go.. I guess.
     
  5. grizz

    grizz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's called

    BT945 - "QUINTRO+"
    Home Entertainment Control Centre at

    http://b-tech-int.com/BT945.htm

    Sorry, I should have searched a bit more on what it was called before I posted, :blush:

    regards
    G
     
  6. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Yep, that should do it.

    Check your Samsung manual for an external input. Let's assume it has one.

    Connect all your sources to your QUINTRO and then the audio (stereo) output from the QUINTRO into your Samsung, and the video output to the TV. Don't forget to select the external input on the Samsung and the relevant input on the TV at the same time.
     
  7. grizz

    grizz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North West UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks,

    We now can do a detalied search on type/model.

    Btw the link "Introduction to LCD TVs" on Plasma and LCD displays does not load the pdf file, been to the http://www.whatvideotv.com and the same thing happens there :/ oh well, never mind, i got one of the main Q's sorted.

    Many thanks again :)

    Regards
    G
     

Share This Page

Loading...