1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do You Pre Crop A Picture For Printing

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Garrett, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,010
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Is it a good idea to crop you photo to the ratio you are getting printed, in the past I have had things in the shoot and on the negative, but when I have got the prints back they have cropped the print at the wrong side missing somthing important and thus ruined a picture.

    The pictures taken on a camera ratio is 5.35*4 whereas prints are ether 6*4 or 7*5.
     
  2. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,177
    Personally I do, but then again I am rarely happy with any photo I have taken that I haven't cropped in some way.
     
  3. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    At your cams ratio you'll have to crop them yourself, or make sure you leave enough room above or below your subject so that you wont lose a vital part when they are croped. If you use the crop tool in photoshop elements mate, you can set the size to say 6x4 then drag it from the top or bottom depending on the part you can afford to lose. Or you can drag it so you lose a bit from the top and bottom.

    I can do a screen print and show you how to do it if you want mate:)
     
  4. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,010
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Thank for the offer of help but I was told how to do it some time ago it could have even been you who told me. :smashin:
    I just clicked the framing tool and entered 600*400 or as you put it 6*4.
     
  5. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    I always crop for printing - I use a program called Jpegcrops for lossless cropping of my files post production.
     
  6. Gjn200

    Gjn200
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm probably telling you to such eggs, but Sony cameras(others too?) have a 3:2 option, ie 6*4, at there maximum resolution.
     
  7. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,010
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    By the was I just alterd the 4 in 5.35*4 and kept the ratio the same and it comes out at 7*5. :blush:

    I will have to look at the options on the camera Gjn200 :smashin:
     
  8. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I prefer 7*5 anyway :)

    Just about big enough to stick on the wall and you can get clipframes for about 50p! Nice to actually get some of my favourite photos up rather than have 'em sit in a drawer.

    Has anyone blown digital photos up bigger then this and had them come out well? I've got some 5Mp pics that'd probably be OK but some of my favourite 2Mp pix I'd like to enlarge.

    Is it worth using photoshop to interpolate the resolution up before getting enlargements done? I know the pic will get softer but has anyone tried this?

    ps Sorry for the post hijack - this was a much longer post than I planned!
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,010
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    It is all right seeing it my thread.

    What size are you blowing up to? I took the monitor as a guide and have blown my 4 mp pictures up beyond the screen and the still look sharp, will this change if printed out the same?
     
  10. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really sure how large to try, the source is 2Mp and after doing a search here one of the sites someone linked to said a good interpolation could probably go up x4.

    In theory if I can get a 1600*1200 image interpolated up to 6400*4800 i could go up to 26" by 20" at 240dpi. I have a feeling that the image would be really soft at that factor though.

    Has anyone tried this? Interpolating a lower res image up for an enlargement, how large could I make a 2Mp image? I know it's a "how long is a piece of string" question but enlargements cost a fair bit!

    I might try interpolating it up and then slicing it into 7*5 slices while I experiment with size.
     
  11. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
  12. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From memory I read an article where pro's use 6-8 Megapixel cameras to do Bill Boards these days !!!, so you should be safe ;)
     
  13. Tommy139

    Tommy139
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +13
    Just downloaded this software, and I must say it is a fantastic little program and it is completely FREE !!

    If anyone else want to download it you can find it HERE

    Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...