• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Do you Invoice ?

ozthecoz

Prominent Member
HI,

Im a taxi driver - i mainly do airport runs and business travel and deal in cash.

I want to approach some local businesses and offer them work on a pay later basis - ie, i drive their clients, staff, documents around and invoice them at the end of the month.

However i have never set up this kind of thing before so does anybody know the ins and outs of setting up a good invoicing system, what terms should I be offering, what info do i need from them etc

complete novice at this so any info would be greatly appreciated

Dave

Mr_Wistles

Distinguished Member
I used to have a contract with a taxi firm.

They asked for £200 deposit. With the balance to be settled in full at the end of each month.

Tricky situation as you are touting for business not the other way round. I would be alarmed if a firm asked me for a deposit if they contacted me out of the blue.

Personally I would offer 28 days to pay on receipt of invoice. You could look into establishing a deposit buffer system once you are more established.

hodg100

Distinguished Member
HI,

Im a taxi driver - i mainly do airport runs and business travel and deal in cash.

I want to approach some local businesses and offer them work on a pay later basis - ie, i drive their clients, staff, documents around and invoice them at the end of the month.

However i have never set up this kind of thing before so does anybody know the ins and outs of setting up a good invoicing system, what terms should I be offering, what info do i need from them etc

complete novice at this so any info would be greatly appreciated

Dave

Are you VAT registered? It makes it much simpler if you aren't...

Solomon Grundy

Distinguished Member