1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do trees affect freeview?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by azz, May 13, 2005.

  1. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    I had a good arial put up on the side of my house last year and had no problems. Then i put a sky dish under it 2-3 feet and i had a very occational problem with channel five. Now the tree that the areial was pointing at has grown leaves and is quite thick. I have lost channel5 qvc and others.

    Is it the trees, or has the tramitter for nottingham been damged etc. I have a spare Thomson freeview box and the same problesm as the sagem.

    Looking at the technical data the channel signal quality is poor

    Please advise-the arial is on the side of the chiminey stack i guess the next thing to do is buy a pole but the areial cables are a little short

    azz :lease:
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The short answer to your question is "yes" - trees can reduce signal strength, which, in turn, increases the likelihood of corruption. Ideally, you need to get as near to line-of-sight with the transmitter, as you can. A higher gain aerial, and/or differently positioned seems to be needed.
     
  3. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks nigel but the BBC and ITV123 are all fine weard?

    The tree is huge

    I will let u know after the WEnd

    Azz
     
  4. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Also the arial is a high gain arial for very week signals already!

    Azz
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Digital signals are like that - things either work, or they don't. If you were "borderline" for signals before the leaves appeared, the leaves probably pushed the signal below the level needed to lock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...