Do Sky boxes have component outputs?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Simonuk, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. Simonuk

    Simonuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking to order sky soon (not Sky+) and intend to connect it to the component sockets of my projector. Do the sandard sky boxes have component outputs or will I need to use an alterative connection i.e S-video.
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    If only. RGB SCART or S-Video only.
     
  3. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most don't have S-Video. If you want it, look for a Grundig Digibox with the 8-pin socket at the rear. From memory, all the early GDS models ending with "/S" have S-Video and (I think) the GDS2000 and 3000 have.
     
  4. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is a freeview box with component output. netgem

    www.netgem.com
     
  5. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    And to throw another fly in the ointment, sky via svid is pretty cruddy on a pj.
     
  6. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a JS RGB to component converter.
     
  7. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,496
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,768
    Like ancientgreek said...use a JS RGB to component converter...Another advantage of Sky+ is of-course the optical digital out so you can use the DAC's in your amp for the sound (I assume you have a AV AMP as you have a projector...) much nicer quality than the built-in ones...
     
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Both my Sky digiboxes have JS-Tech RGB(scart)2YUV convertors, they are the dogs nads.

    PQ=excellent. Don't do s-video!

    StooMonster
     
  9. whiteswan

    whiteswan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +43
    I have just got sky plus and svideo to my pana ae100 (i had a scart to svid box before) and the pic is a lot better!

    It has removed some banding.

    Dave, Oldham.
     

Share This Page

Loading...