1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do Sky boxes have component outputs?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Simonuk, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. Simonuk

    Simonuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking to order sky soon (not Sky+) and intend to connect it to the component sockets of my projector. Do the sandard sky boxes have component outputs or will I need to use an alterative connection i.e S-video.
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    If only. RGB SCART or S-Video only.
     
  3. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most don't have S-Video. If you want it, look for a Grundig Digibox with the 8-pin socket at the rear. From memory, all the early GDS models ending with "/S" have S-Video and (I think) the GDS2000 and 3000 have.
     
  4. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is a freeview box with component output. netgem

    www.netgem.com
     
  5. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    And to throw another fly in the ointment, sky via svid is pretty cruddy on a pj.
     
  6. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a JS RGB to component converter.
     
  7. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,481
    Like ancientgreek said...use a JS RGB to component converter...Another advantage of Sky+ is of-course the optical digital out so you can use the DAC's in your amp for the sound (I assume you have a AV AMP as you have a projector...) much nicer quality than the built-in ones...
     
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Both my Sky digiboxes have JS-Tech RGB(scart)2YUV convertors, they are the dogs nads.

    PQ=excellent. Don't do s-video!

    StooMonster
     
  9. whiteswan

    whiteswan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +36
    I have just got sky plus and svideo to my pana ae100 (i had a scart to svid box before) and the pic is a lot better!

    It has removed some banding.

    Dave, Oldham.
     

Share This Page

Loading...