Do loudspeakers automatically block frequencies they can’t handle?

roystonchris

Standard Member
Sorry if the question is simple, I’m new to all this stuff.

I know that the tweeter has a capacitor in line to block lower frequencies, but I was wondering, does a speaker divert everything else to the woofer, or does that also have some form of capacitor/filter to block anything below its optimum range? Reason I’m asking is that a HiFi amp will (I assume) output all frequencies and leave the speaker to sort them out, but with an AV amp you specify the speaker range. Or is that done just so the amp knows when to add in the sub, and the signal to the speakers actually contains all frequencies?

Was wondering because, in a car for example, you might have different speakers in the front and back, and you don’t specify the range on the headunit.

S

Snagglington

Well, I'll have a go here - I'm a complete novice at buying home cinema but have messed with hifi all my life so I feel reasonably confident to answer you - please point out if I make any errors please experts!!

So - the passive crossover network can be either very simple or complex little piece depending on what you buy, but basically:

If your tweeter has just one capacitor then this is a very simple crossover which will 'roll off' into the midrange at 6db down per octave that the frequency drops.

Now, as you say, that filters out the midrange and below and allows the tweeter to perform happily, but what about the mids etc?

Well - as frequency climbs (in respect of the mids) the impedence of a speaker generally increases as the speaker gets up a long way from its natural operating range. This naturally reduces the output of a speaker without doing anything at all, so from this perspective nothing is needed to make the output swap over happily to the tweeter..... BUT