Do I stay....V+ HD Channels

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by nunnc01, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. nunnc01

    nunnc01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been with Telewest/Virgin for a long time now... I was so happy when my TV drive turned up. Just think of all that HD programming I will be watching..... I'm still waiting.

    So, having seen the great deal on Sky HD at the moment, thought it was time to give retentions a call. Just come off the phone and was told that the HD Channels are likely to be Setanta, Living, Bravo and C4. They said that they are still in discussions about getting Sky Sports/Movies HD.

    Also told that 2mb broadband will be upgraded to 10mb free of charge in the next few months.

    Do I trust them or has the time come to move to Sky ???

    If it helps I'm currently on V+ XL, Phone XL, Broadband M for £34 per month
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I think the BB upgade is about right, but I wouldn't believe a word about HD.
    I've been hearing the same old rubbish since June 2007.

    It's only VM's broadband that's holding me, as I know a copper connection would be rubbish.
     
  3. dan1979

    dan1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +218

    That's what Telewest told me in summer 2006 and it's what people have been repeatedly told by TW/Virgin customer service ever since.

    The only actual quotes from anyone important at Virgin have clearly stated they aren't interested in HD channels, only on demand content.
     
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Crikey, that's right!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (the world cup)

    I can't believe we've been waiting over 2 and a 1/2 years :suicide:
     
  5. JayAy

    JayAy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +31
    Not true. VM's CEO, Berkett, stated on 15th Dec that they will be adding HD channels in the next 3 to 4 months as well as HD on demand.

    According to Berkett, Sky has been causing other providers a few problems until recently having "locked the HD content away for a period of time." Apparently, though "this changed recently and a lot of non-platform suppliers have started to make HD available, so it is now a commercial decision that we have made."
    Pushed for a timeframe on these new HD offering becoming available Berkett suggested that the next three or four months would see Virgin Media "launching three or four more HD channels." Berkett also added that: "you'll see us exploit our advantage in Video on Demand. I refer to it often as the Veruca Salt package: 'I want it and I want it now' and that will impact more heavily in terms of HD."


    OK, I wouldn't rely too much on the time frame, but the stated intention of VM is to increase the HD chanel lineup.
     
  6. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,967
    When I left them last year got the same BS.
    Part of the problem is that the V+ box is only MPEG2 therefore no AVC therefor no compression advantage (Sky have it at 3 times reduction for the same video quality on AVC now, hence the extra channels) plus VM have less system bandwidth.
    Had MTV HD for several weeks, Sci Fi HD come online this week :thumbsup:
     
  7. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I understand that to be correct.
    Plus IIRC, they only have enough room for two HD channels anyway.

    I don't see HD coming until all the analogue stuff is gone :thumbsdow
     
  8. BikeNutt

    BikeNutt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +78
    Shocking isn't it! I remember watching the very first 'live' transmission on BBCHD with Lineker, Shearer & Hanson in the studio in Germany and thinking how great it was to have cable HDTV. How wrong was I??
     
  9. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +587
    Same old story on HD.

    I also remember the first days of high bit rate BBC HD and sitting in awe of the blue planet and then the 06 world cup, thinking how great it would be to have this over several channels - what a pipe dream.

    Back in the day i politely pushed a TW customer services chap and he confirmed that they get the announcements on the same day as the general public. Anything else are just rumours around their office - which are rarely accurate.

    One thing is for sure, if HD is your main factor, the V+ box isn't for you.

    MB
     
  10. ScottBT

    ScottBT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +47
    Personally I would stay with V+. I changed to Sky+ briefly and hated it. The loss of the 3rd tuner was a huge loss and the box buzzed like hell.

    However £49.99 for a SKY HD box is a great offer if HD is your main goal.
     
  11. Inferno

    Inferno
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bedlam, Warrington, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,095
    Just off the phone to Retentions, They say that the channel's are going to be at first, ITV HD, CH 4 HD and MTV HD not sure about setanta and 1 other definitely by the end of march.
    There will be no channels of the sky package as sky will not let them have them, and there going to monopolys and mergers about that.Also they say that by the end of each quarter that they will have 4 more HD channel's added each time so thats 16 by the end of the year.
    Do you believe them?????
    :lease: :lease: :lease: :lease: :lease: :lease: :lease: :lease:
    And woopee ive got a £5 discount per month as i threatened to go by end of march if we didnt have the channels, fingers crossed.
     
  12. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I certainly don't believe we'll have that many channels in that time frame :thumbsdow
     
  13. shadowdogg

    shadowdogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just wondering if anybody knows what HD channels gonna be put on VM and any dates?
     
  14. nialli

    nialli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Berkett recently said that Virgin could have the Sky HD channels, but that the price was not commercially attractive. The stories circulating last month are summarised here. (moderators: if you'd prefer me not to post this URL, please remove - no breach of rules intended.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  15. BikeNutt

    BikeNutt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +78
    If you look across the various blogs/forums, each poster's tale of their conversation with VM differs from the next. What does this tell us? - That the Service Reps, like us, have no clue what the real story is.

    Who's to say that's not their way of getting rid of a difficult caller?
    Who's to say that's not what they've been told to do by management?
    Who's to say some of these posts are even genuine and nothing but viral marketing spread by VM themselves to stop customers leaving by feeding them morsels of unsubstantiated mis-information?

    Berkett's comments last month were vague at best. If and when VM have any kind of tangible HD offering, you can bet Sam Jackson will be shouting it from the rooftops!
     
  16. jwball

    jwball
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Setanta don't have an HD channel so I very much doubt that.
    ITV HD is on freesat only and isn't an actual channel.
    C4HD is partly funded by sky so that won't be coming to Virgin either.

    Your source is very mis-informed.
     
  17. nialli

    nialli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    So's yours, I'm afraid. Sky originally supplied playout facilities to C4HD but that's no longer the case (C4HD is now played out through RedBee Media). The launch of the channel was assisted by Sky but there's no funding now that I'm aware of.
     
  18. VinnyP!

    VinnyP!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +105
    Why not Virgin 1 HD? It's mostly Yank shows so the HD source is already available. I'd also like to think ITV HD & C4 HD just on the basis they will need the revenue until Freesat takes off with falling advertising budgets and they won't want to help out sky.
     
  19. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +587
    Can i make a bold suggestion that we simply don't even bother to post any HD comments from CS. In the various posts on Av forums and other such sources, i must have seen possibly 100 or more comments over the years (I repeat, some of us have had these promises since May 1996), most promising more HD around the corner, all of which turned out to be rubbish.

    Let's just stick to VM management interviews and press releases, or we'll all go insane :suicide:

    MB
     
  20. BikeNutt

    BikeNutt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +78
    Seconded!
     

Share This Page

Loading...