Do I really need a sub?

ScottishAndy

Hiya!

Am currently building my first Home Cinema set-up. I've already decided on either the MA RS5s or the MA BR5s for the fronts, MS 906s for rears (I already own these), and am yet to decide on a centre.

It's quite a small room (3m wide X 5m long), so I was wondering whether I really needed a sub, at least to begin with.

Sorry if this is an unbelievably dumb thing to ask, but i'm new to all this fun :)

Grateful for your suggestions.

Crustyloafer

Distinguished Member
The short answer to your question is yes. There are very few, if any, domestic speakers on the market at all that can deliver bass low enough and without distortion that a decent subwoofer can do.

The only loudspeaker that have have direct experience of, in my demo room and at Metropolis Studios in London, that can be comfortably used without ever feeling the need for a subwoofer are the PMC BB5-XBD professional active studio monitors which retail for £38,000 a pair.

A pair of good quality but low cost floorstanders such as the RS5s or BR5s will serve their purpose well as front speakers but would not be capable of taking on the role of replacing a subwoofer.

That said, there would be no harm in starting without a subwoofer and then adding one when funds allow. Once you get a decent sub you will wonder how you managed for so long without one though.

ScottishAndy

Thanks very much for clearing that up!

I think I will go for the MS 3091 once I get some more coppers together.

Thanks again.

iainsilvester

You should also bear in mind that you should only have one bass radiator in your array, so if you have a sub you should set your LCR to "small". A good sub is better at handling low colouration bass than the bottom end of a typical floorstander, and integrating multiple bass radiators in the average room is problematic. This is why THX specifies an 80Hz crossover for all surround speakers with the sub handling everything <80Hz from all channels.