• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Do I pay off the house

jjgreenwood

Prominent Member
So I've been saving for the last 10+ years into an isa like everyone said you should. I've also got a substantial mortgage which I pay off in a manner that should clear it in 15 years or so. It turns out that if things go in the next few years like they have for the last few years, and I know that is a big if, I should be able to pay my mortgage off with my savings in 2021.

What would you do? Pay off the mortgage or keep the savings?

soupdragon

Distinguished Member
So I've been saving for the last 10+ years into an isa like everyone said you should. I've also got a substantial mortgage which I pay off in a manner that should clear it in 15 years or so. It turns out that if things go in the next few years like they have for the last few years, and I know that is a big if, I should be able to pay my mortgage off with my savings in 2021.

What would you do? Pay off the mortgage or keep the savings?

In simple terms, if you grow your money faster than the interest rate on the mortgage, then keep your money and invest. If not, pay the mortgage off.

Or, if you can make a portion of your money work better (eg a LISA) then do that and use the surplus to pay off some mortgage.

John7

Prominent Member
Keep your savings but suspend saving any further and use the money to increase mortgage payments, reducing the payback time. Also consider keeping a small residual mortgage if you plan on needing any form of credit in the future as this will be helpful maintaining a good credit rating.

blue max

Distinguished Member