1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need to use the on / off switch on my sub

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by tawsi, Nov 23, 2003.

  1. tawsi

    tawsi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Got a BK XLS a few weeks back and got round to setting it up properly this weekend (had to shift a lot of stuff around). Problem is that in its current position its not very easy to reach the on/off switch. Should I always turn my sub off by this switch first (which I currently do) or is it ok just to turn it off at the mains (which would make it easier for others in the house to use the sub).
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think using the mains switch is ok. Or you could opt for a master-slave socket, i.e. when the amp is switched on it will power on the sub (and others if connected) automatically.
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I never switch mine off.
     
  4. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does the sub pop if you turn it on and off at the mains? Using the switch might be a better idea, assuming it includes soft-start/anti-thump circuitry. I use the switch on mine, always.

    MuFu.
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I got an auto-mode but I always switch it off when not in use, and in case of a long time I will disconnect it from the mains entirely. Better safe than sorry ...
     
  6. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,334
    Same as Reiner, mine are on Auto for most of the time unless I'm out of the house whereupon they get turned off at the mains.
     
  7. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi tawsi
    My sub is left on auto start up 24/7 never turn it off as turning them on and off can cuase more problems than leaving it in sleep mode.Dont know of anybodys house catching fire through a subwoofer, though a eccentric harold corbett of this forum said his servo 15 nearly caught fire through a fault on the sub but he did tend to make things sound more dramatic (bit of a drama queen).
    Cheers Gonzo.
     
  8. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Harold Corbett was an alter ego of a rival subwoofer dealer trying to increase his sales by rubbishing the competition :thumbsdow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...