do i need to buy a scaler ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by zamwessell, Jul 1, 2004.

  1. zamwessell

    zamwessell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +120
    If i was to supply a Sharp Z12000 with video sources from an Arcam FMJ DV27,Sky+ box and Xbox....will i still need to buy an external scaler?

    If so..any recommendations?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
    I'd wait and try a scaler once you've got it all in situ. I can't remember whether it was a 12000 or 11000 I last worked on. They have some great features for calibration but the de-interlacing settings were not simple to work with making it hard to get consistent performance.

    Gordon
     
  3. zamwessell

    zamwessell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks Gordon
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same PJ just different languages IIRC. Z11k = Japanese, Z12k = English.

    I'd agree, get the PJ, use it & then consider a scaler.

    :smoke:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice