1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need powerstrip?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by bbq, Mar 31, 2005.

1. bbq

bbq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok, so I'll start with I am a newbie

I am just commissioning my media system (running MCE 2005)
    I am lucky enough to have a Panasonic Plasma screen TH-50PHD30 (1366x768 pixel) that I am intending to connect the PC to via VGA
    (other options are component via my AV amp which currently feeds component in from tivo & DVD player)

My graphics card (X800XL) supports 1360x768. The machine will be used occasionally for games as well as TV (the idea will be to eventually give my parents the Tivo)

So in my ignorance, I'd like to ask - Do I need anything like Powerstrip?

Am I best sticking to VGA or should I try to get component working?

When I watch Live/Recorded TV from MCE, the displayed images are considerably smaller than possible size on the screen, leaving me black bars perhaps 15% wide both sides of the image. Is the NORMAL???

Sorry for the simple questions.

If the answer is YES - can anybody help me through setting up powerstrip

If it matters - I am using the DVD codecs from NVidia - but have not tested any of the others.

Thanks

2. MikeTV

MikeTV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +843
    Since your card supports 1360x768, I wouldn't have thought you'd need powerstrip. If you can switch to that resolution from windows, and the desktop fills the whole screen, you don't need powerstrip. Powerstrip is used when the card supports resolutions that Windows doesn't allow you to access by default.

If VGA works, I'd use that (and not component). VGA is five signals (RGBHV), whereas component is only three, and so VGA is better, as a rule.