Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Do i need CD player for my setup?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by 5ergo, May 31, 2005.

  1. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    My setup is:
    -Yamaha RX-V450 receiver (2x185W@4ohm)
    -Dynaudio audience 42
    -M-audio Revolution 7.1

    So the 2.0 system is connected to my PC via digital out.Id like to know if i get better sound using external CD player for music?
    I use good apps ->EAC to rip and Foobar2000 for playback and i use Monkeys audio lossless.
    Cable connecting receiver and Revo is Vivancos best (RCA to RCA).
    Is this Vivanco good brand?
     
  2. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes you would. You'd also get better sound if you used a stereo amp.
     
  3. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Have you thought about using an external DAC and using the PC as a transport.

    I agree with Tom, a stereo amp would also improve the sound.
     
  4. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Yes you would. You'd also get better sound if you used a stereo amp."

    I know but i want to have 5.1 someday.So if id be using stereo amp id agin a lot bass right?

    "Have you thought about using an external DAC and using the PC as a transport."

    No i dont really know much about this option.Can you describe whats the benefit of it?

    As for CD player, im buying NAD 521BEE.Thanks!
     
  5. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    As above, an external DAC would certainly improve music. It may also be worth considering adding an offboard power amplifier as Dynaudio speakers are generally quite a tough load which your Yam is probably struggling with. :)
     
  7. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see.
    Ill think about the DAC investment, since its pricey.If I recall it correctly i need ext CD player first no matter if i decide for ext DAC or not, right?

    Is there a difference in quality if i connect CD player via "CD input" or spdif?
     
  8. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not sure about gaining bass, but you'll hear a huge difference in pretty much every aspect of the sound.
     
  9. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    "I'm not sure about gaining bass, but you'll hear a huge difference in pretty much every aspect of the sound."

    Hm ill rethink about it.Would NADC352 be a good upgrade for me?Any other good brand for stereo amps?

    And yes, i found out that its better to connect CD player via "CD input" cause its analog, which is better cause theres no need to convert it to analog again as it happens when connected via spdif :)
     
  10. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    You have some good speakers, the more quality they are feed, the better they will sound
     
  11. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    No, you don’t need a CD player if you use the PC as a transport. A 2nd hand DAC can be found for around £100.

    The Dynaudios are not very well suited to the Yamaha (which would prefer a much easier load).

    Finally, for strengthening the lower frequency, I would be looking at a 2nd hand sub (something along the lines of a REL Quake)

    :rolleyes: I don't understand!
     
  12. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i was thinking about SVS PB10.I just hope it wont "destroy" all the details that Dynos make.
    Its not that pricey and i heard its quite good for music.

    Does anyone know if NAD322bee (2x50W) is enough for my 10 sq meter room or should i buy NAD C352 which has 2x80W??


    "A 2nd hand DAC can be found for around £100."

    Ill check whats the current offer.


    "I dont understand!"

    Its just that CDP should be connected via analog inputs.I assume you guys already know that :)
     
  13. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    If you're only using an AV amp then it really makes no odds as it will almost certainly redigitise the analogue incoming signal so that it can perform it's bass management on the signal. :)
     
  14. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    IMHO it doesn't matter if the signal is transmitted via digitial or analogue, provided that unnecessary conversions are removed from the path.
     
  15. 5ergo

    5ergo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyway im currently using Yamaha receiver but ill soon switch to Unison Research Unico P stereo amp.It will be connected to NAD C521BEE CD player via Van Den Hul D-300 ||| cables.
    Im counting on bad ass sound :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice