Do I need a soundcard or some more software?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by BandWidthJunkie, Feb 9, 2009.

1. BandWidthJunkie

BandWidthJunkie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +159
    I am new to HTPCs and audio from them, so be nice :D

I have built a HTPC with a ASUS P5W DH Deluxe motherboard as a base. This board has onboard Realtek audio based, I believe, on the ALC882 codec.

I have set the audio options of the motherboard to output Dolby 5.1 and connected the HTPC to my Denon via coxial.

My Denon is connected to a 7.1 set of speakers.

I have ripped numerous music DVDs to my Windows Home Server and I can play them within Windows Media Centre under Vista.

When I play any Dolby 2.0, Dolby 5.1 or DTS DVDs I get cracking sound from my denon :smashin:

My problem is with a couple of DVDs that only have PCM 2.0 sound on them. These DVDs will play within Windows Media Centre but I get no centre channel sound from my Denon.

The lack of centre channel makes these DVDs sound 'muddy' for want of a better word.

If I change the audio settings of the motherboard to output stereo, then I get a centre channel and again cracking sound from the Denon.

My questions are, do I need a soundcard or a piece of software to make DVDs with only PCM2.0 sound better without having to keep changing the audio settings?

Should I be looking for some sort of sound card or software that just passes the audio to the Denon to decode?

Or am I talking complete b*lls :confused:

2. Andy98765

Andy98765

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,367