1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need a receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by amraam, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I am new to to home cinema systems etc. I have just bought an Eltax 5.1 1200watt surround sound system. I think it has amps buit in but the only input connection to it is 6x RCA jacks. I have a cheap DVD player that only has 2x RCA output jacks, so I am looking to buy a new player that has the 5.1 DTS and dolby digital decoders and the 6x RCA output. If I buy say THIS player (I have been told it has the decoders and RCA output jacks), can I just hook it directly to my sound system or do I need a receiver? I should also add that I am only 18 and income is low, so I hav a very low budget (only really want to spend a max of £50 (I can get more expensive things for a lower price on ebay/ebuyer).

    Thanks very much and I look forward for a reply! :thumbsup: :)

    Regards,
    Harry Marshall
     
  2. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Yes that shoould do you fine.
     
  3. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, so no receiver is needed? If you like I could post a link to the sound system I have?

    So I literally connect the 6x output RCA jacks to the 6x input RCA jacks via phono cables? Can you confirm for me (Sorry I am a supreme ubernoob) that the player has the required gismos(DTS decoders, Dolby - these are for the RCA sockets not just the optical or s video etc?) ?

    On the other hand, what would be better for the future?
    Could I just ue my current dvd player that has LR analogue and coaxial/optical etc and buy a reciever for cheap? would that work?


    Thanks very much for your help and patience for a noob like me! :thumbsup:
     
  4. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Getting a reciever would be the best, if most expensive option. If you could post a link then I could definatly say. If you want a reciever you must get a second hand one or get a budget of approx £200 for a new one.

    Heres a good reciver to start with. Good power, good decoding and 6.1 for under £150 :D
    http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/product_id/1926

    If you dont want to get a reciever and just get the cheaper dvd player I would recommend buying some of these cables as they used to be Ixos top reference cable and now sold nice and cheap.
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=32833&item=5768572756&rd=1
     
  5. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there thanks. I will look around ebay some more. If i can find a good receiver at a decent price I will invest, but I will probably go for the Yamada 6700 dvd player (Ive seen it for £38 brand new).
    heres a link to the sound system I have:

    My Eltax 5.1 cinema system

    Also, if you dont mind, what do you think abou it? Is it any good or have I wasted money?

    Thanks again!
     
  6. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh as for the receiver, is THIS any good?

    I also found this one.

    And THIS one
     
  7. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I correct in thinking that if I buy a receiver, I can keep my DVD player that does not have any decoders and only has analogue stereo (L and R) output?
     
  8. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86

    Yes as the amp will do the decoding. You would then use a coax to the amp from the dvd player

    The 3803 would be the best one but I bet that will go for several hunderd. I would still recommend the Yamaha over all the others especially as thats new and has the warrenty with it.
     
  9. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool thx,
    I wish I hada better budget! What do u think urself about the yamada 6700? Do you definately think it will work? Does it definately have the required gismos?
     
  10. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    It does sound and look like it will

    I would recommend one of these over the Yamada. Doesnt have divx plyaback but will slaughter it for sound and picture quality. It retailed at £200 when I purchased one. I still have it and think its superb and at this price its a steal :D:smashin:

    http://www.play.com/play247.asp?pa=genbrw&page=title&r=ELEC&title=509316
     
  11. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help Dfour!

    What about this player? its a bit more affordable?

    Tangent DivX 400
    I know it'll work as theyre bein sold from the people i bought the sound system as a package with the sound system (long story as to why I didnt go for that)
     
  12. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Whats the difference between that and the 800SE?
     
  13. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    The 800SE has a lesser chipset internally and doesnt do progressive scan. If you dont need progressive scan then the 800SE will do well and is also very musical.
     
  14. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0


    HEHEHE, now what is progressive scan?
     
  15. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Read the bottom of This and scroll to the bottom for article for a description.

    Unless you have an expensive tv then you wont need it.
     
  16. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Nope, I just have a crappy 15" Matsui VCR combo TV lol.
     
  17. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i was ever to buy say a 28" widescreen TV, and this player didnt have the progressive scan, would I see a noticeable quality loss?
     
  18. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found the Limit 9900 SEon ebay for a very attractive price. Will that baby work?

    Im sorry If Im making your patience grow thin :oops:
     
  19. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    The 9900 is the older model and not in the same league as the 900SE. The 9900 was also unreliable.

    You would need to spend quite a lot on a tv to get prog scan and yes you would notice the difference.
     
  20. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  21. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews4212.html

    Have a read and see what you think.

    The postage quoted is a rip off though. You can get it sent by courier for £11 with next day (90% of the time)

    Not bad price if it stays thet low but bare in mind it has almost no warrenty left for the money.:eek:

    Amraam, you do know you can press the edit button on your old posts and not have to add more posts. Keeps the thread tidy :lesson:
     
  22. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL sorry about that, yeah I knew about the edit post :oops:

    Another question though:
    If I can afford it I should go for the 900SE? If not, make the 800SE my second choice?


    Thanks again
     
  23. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    In all honesty as your only using a small tv I would ignore the 900se as it has features that you wont ever use. The 800SE will do everything you want and more as it will also make a good cd player when most cheap dvd's are poor cd players.
     
  24. amraam

    amraam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much for your help!!! Really appreciated.

    I'll shop around until I fond them at an affordable price for me!
     

Share This Page

Loading...