1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need a pre-amp for vinyl?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by matt bellamy, Jan 16, 2005.

1. matt bellamy

matt bellamy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

I have decided to buy a seperate system consisting of NAD cd player, project turn table, rotel amp and Tannoy Speaker. I have been told to get an off board phono stage to get better sound from the Turn Table since the whole setup is really based around the turn table. Will I need an off board phono stage with the ROTEL RA01 AMPLIFIER and which is the best for no more than about £120.

thanks (and sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm new to this :blush: )

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. Stew

Stew
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. CJROSS

CJROSS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +343
    Using a £120 Phono stage into a £250 amplifer seems like Overkill to me, FWIW I would go with a NAD PP2 @ £40 to start off with, then see how happy you are with that.

5. Zigster

Zigster
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would have thought a separate phono stage was only really necessary if your amp didn't have one (and the spec of the Rotel RA01 amp includes a MM phono output). At this level, the £120 would probably be better spent elsewhere in the system - ie to go from a £250 amp to a nearly £400 amp.

6. Stew

Stew
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use my Gram amp 2 with a NAd 320BEE amp which is even less than £250, but whatever...
    Just use the pre amp in the Rotel :smashin:

7. la gran siete

la gran siete

Products Owned: