Do I need a Media Player?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by monkeylala, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. monkeylala

    monkeylala
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Poulton Le Fylde
    Ratings:
    +7
    I currently have a Onkyo TX605 receiver running a Panasonic TV, Infocus projector, Squeezebox (inc Spotify) and an aspire laptop. SB/laptop running wireless. Music is on an external hard drive (currently not linked to anything).

    I'm thinking that a media player to play music and show pictures on the tv (not that bothered about movies/TV).

    Have looked at western digital, boxee etc but unsure if they will work and/or connect with my set up? Can anyone help?? All help gratefully received. Thanks
     
  2. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    Boxee isn't supported anymore, its a dead product.

    WDTV box can connect to your network, stream music etc... and photos to your tv is thats what your after.
     
  3. monkeylala

    monkeylala
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Poulton Le Fylde
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thank you. I will invest now I have confirmation that it will work with what I have.
     
  4. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    you can plug the hdd into the wdtv so you can access it via usb
     
  5. monkeylala

    monkeylala
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Poulton Le Fylde
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks.
    But where does it go in the set up I have? Plugged into the amp or between amp and TV?
    eg WDTV amp TV or amp WDTV TV?
     
  6. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    You'll need it connected to the tv for the control interface although they do have apps for droid and ios which could suffice. Then audio out to your amp or does your amp have hdmi and feed your tv?
     
  7. monkeylala

    monkeylala
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Poulton Le Fylde
    Ratings:
    +7
    Amp has HDMI out to a HDMI split box for TV and projector. I presume it goes between amp and split box so you can use on both tv and projector?
     
  8. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,515
    WDTV > Amp > HDMI Splitter > TV & PJ

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice