1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do freesat digibox viewers get the upgrade?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by leedebs, Sep 6, 2005.

  1. leedebs

    leedebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +95
    Guys,
    Quick Q.
    Sky+ V2 pace box in one room has now upgraded to latest software version.........nice light blue background :D
    Other old Pace box (black) first version ever issued by Sky still hasn't had the upgrade although I can remove the red dot that was from a previous software upgrade.
    Any ideas whether this box will be upgraded or will it not be cos it's on Freesat? :lease:
     
  2. xxxx

    xxxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +23
    Whether you subscribe or not makes no difference to updates. Neither does the phone connection. You get them anyway.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The current SKY+ upgrades are actually the last in the list to get the updates that were rolled out to standard digiboxes earlier this year which include the red dot remover and 4 digit radio preperations.

    I think only the parental control features are new to this round of updates and the next major upgrades will be rolled in with the EPG reshuffle.
     
  4. leedebs

    leedebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +95
    So should I ring Sky to ensure I get the same software on both boxes?
    I must say I prefer the new light blue background.
     
  5. TrevP

    TrevP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do forced software update......turn box off at the plug...then press and hold the backup button on the box itself and switch backon at the plug, whilst still depressing the backup button on the box....eventually screen display will advise that software update is in progress. You can stop depressing the backup button.

    Box will go into standby when finished. When you take box of standby, you should have the upgrade
     
  6. leedebs

    leedebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +95
    Just tried that...............no luck :( still the same old background! :rolleyes:
    Pace version No 9F0103
    OS version 1.2S4F9
    EPG software version 3.3a.6

    Now I understand that the latest epg version for standard boxes should be 3.3b.5? is this right?
    Should I ring Sky?
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It's a mistake to assume that all Sky V2 boxes have been upgraded. Sky often do the upgrades in batches to avoid swamping the call centres, should there be a problem with the new software. By forcing an update, you run the risk of a failed download, which could leave you with a pile of junk.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    As Nick_UK updates are not rolled out in a single all encompassing batch.

    As for the standard digibox it may be that it missed the minor update which included the EPG background change or that it's part of a batch then haven't been upgraded as of yet.
    If you want to waste your money calling SKY then go ahead but are you really missing anything important to the operation of the STB?
     
  9. leedebs

    leedebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +95
    Valid points, probably won't bother then.........
    One other thing though.......how do I remove the adult channels from the epg as mentioned on other posts?
     

Share This Page

Loading...