1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do digital cameras have a black & white mode ?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by HMHB, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    Is it possible to take black and white photos with a digital camera rather than rely on software to convert a colour one to b&w ?
     
  2. m@rk

    m@rk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +360
    Yes.

    Some cameras do have a B&W mode as well as sepia etc but to be honest, I would rather take the photo in colour and then convert it because if you took it in B&W first then wished you had taken it in colour, it's not a problem.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    I thought it might be quite useful to be able to view the pic you've just taken in b&w to make sure that it would look ok. When you're back at home tinkering with software, you may find that it needed to be taken again with different settings.
     
  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    take one of each..that's what's great about digital cams;)
     
  5. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I'm not sure I would rely on a small LCD screen to show much more than lighting and composition, and if it looks OK in colour it will be OK in BW.

    Any decent colour image will convert well into BW, and the extra detail captured by colour will make a better BW print too. I don't think that there is much that Photoshop (or similar) will not be able to do.

    In addition, as already mentioned it's much better to have an original colour image for experimenting on.
     
  6. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    If you want a simple way of converting to B&W take a look at http://www.jakerlund.net and download Johny's B&W Package V2.0 - its essentially a set of photoshop actions that coverts a colour image and gives some tint options via coloured layers. Simple and effective.

    Their Edge Sharp v1.0 is good too - and a little more subtle than unsharp mask.
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    OK you've all persuaded me that it better to take in colour and convert to mono later. Now all I've got to do is buy a digital camera !
     
  8. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    The IXUS400 can take pictures in B/W and Sepia. The mju300 will convert them for you.
     
  9. andy572

    andy572
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've just bought a Canon, too. I don't know about other brands, but the A60 that I have (and hence, the A70 and '80, I expect :D ) has the same sepia or black and white modes. Just in case! :laugh:

    Oh, and I wouldn't use them either :hiya:
     

Share This Page

Loading...