Question Do deals on projectors and screens come up frequently from RS?

dashfield

I'm planning my new home cinema and planning on getting a BenQ W2700 projector with 120' Optoma DS-9120MGA pull down screen and Sanus ceiling mount.

Richer Sounds are running are running a few offers on these at the moment:
- £100 RS voucher when buying the projector
- 10% off projector screens when bought with projector
- 20% off ceiling mounts when bought with projector.

I've spoken to the store and they're happy to combine these offers, so instead of the projector, screen and mount costing £1738, it comes to £1595. Not a huge saving, but I'm not going to knock £143.

But here's my question, do deals like this come up all the time? This is the first time I've seriously looked into buying a projector so I have no experience if these deals are normal or if I should make the most of them while they're around? Might there be better deals around black friday for example?

I realise no-one has a crystal ball, especially at the moment, but I was just wondering what your views are if you've been in the projector market for a while? To be honest I was planning on buying the kit towards the end of the year, maybe beginning of next year and my room won't be ready for a few months. So ideally I'd rather wait, but equally I don't want to miss a good deal.

kenshingintoki

Distinguished Member
You can negotiate a deal with them normally but I'd say generally say for projection buying advice:

1. Projectors hold their value extremely well until a newer model is announced. Therefore buying a high end projector at the start of its lifespan or at the end is a good choice, but the middle part doesn't have price drops we see in most display technologies (e.g. the TV price cycle doesn't apply to projection, a 2 year old JVC projector will still be worth near RRP aslong as a sucessor hasn't been announced, similarly applications to Epson).