DMRE100 V's DMRE85

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cwoj, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know what the major differences are between these two models other than the SD card Reader?

    Cheers
    Cwoj
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    E100 is an older model replaced by E95... E85 is slightly lower spec re SD card reader etc very litle real differences so take your pick...
     
  3. sweat100

    sweat100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    E100 has DV in, E85 does not have.

    E100 is one generation older than E85 though E100 has the best features for its generation. Think E85 is up to 8 hrs max while E100 is only 6 hrs.
     
  4. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think i will stick with the DMRE100 and sell the DMRE85 then.
    Cheers
    Cwoj
     
  5. Siamese Cat

    Siamese Cat
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +127
    Component & progressive scan on the e85
     
  6. sweat100

    sweat100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    E100 also have component and progressive but only progressive at NTSC
     
  7. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so given the choice, which one would you keep. I bought the DMRE100 three months ago, still have box etc for resale. I am getting the DMRE85 as part of a plasma deal for £200.00. So i am going to sell one, but which is the best one to keep?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    if you have a digital camcorder E100 if not E85 IMO
     
  9. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    being very thick....can you tell me what this means?

    Hornydragon, i dont have a digital camcorder but may buy one once my account goes back into the black.. :p.

    If you were selling a nearly new dmre100, what would you ask for it of the adverts...i'd use the price that i bought it for but they have been falling and am not sure the 100 is sold anymore. I could be wrong :lesson:
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    as the E85 is spanky i would sell it for £50 less than cheapest online site or to me for £5 :) :p
     
  11. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh yeah.....you'd pay me in pennies!!!...but if you were selling the dmre100 what would you ask for...also what about sweat100 comment "E100 also have component and progressive but only progressive at NTSC".....should i be reading up on more techobable???
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    it means it does Component output and NTSC progressive scan but no PAL progreesive Scan
     
  13. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    which means..? sorry for being thick but i dont know what that means to me and my setup?
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    do you know what NTSC is? and What PAL IS? E100 can ouput NTSC Prog scan but not PAL Progscan...
    Do you know what prog scan is?
     
  15. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No not really, but heres what i do know.

    NTSC - America and i think Japan
    Pal - Uk - somat about pulse or phase alternating line

    Now progressive scan images are regarded as better quality than interlaced images...So if I want to send a progressive scan image from the DVD recorder and given that were in the UK (pal) and as my shiny new viera will support prog on both...then i should stick with the DMRE85...Yes? or am i completely bonkers and making all this up?
     
  16. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read some where that the Viera's in-built progressive scan is propabley better than that of of 400 dvd recorder...so is it that important?
     
  17. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    E100 doesn't have Component output by the way, and the E85 has a faster dubbing speed of up to 32x rather than 24x :)
     
  18. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    E100 doesn't have component out and it's news to me that it could do NTSC PS ?

    On the Viera you probably want Pal PS but RGB does run it awful close.

    With such a nice looking screen having an ugly brute like the E85 below it is a crying shame. Panny didn't get the aesthetics right on the DVD recorders I'm afraid :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  19. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should have seen the 1st one, DMR-E20 :D
    What don't you like about the new ones?

    You're right about progressive though, if it doesn't have Component out then it doesn't have progressive either.
     
  20. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    I had the E20. Beautiful solid brick house of a machine, looked like a real bit of AV kit. :thumbsup:

    2nd gen were not bad, but build quality deteriorated and has done ever since.

    The E85 is just pig ugly :eek: £30 Asda dvd jobby runs it close for looks...and that's probably an insult to the Asda machine. :laugh:
     
  21. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed. They don't make them like that any more :thumbsdow

    I've still got mine :clap: I love the blue light which frames the Timeslip roller, and together with the smooth clean lines makes it look much more modern than the current generation.
     
  22. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Oh yes, blue light and centre display console, makes it look beautiful.

    New ones don't hold a candle to it ! Looks wise of course.
     
  23. sweat100

    sweat100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm... You sure that E100 does not have component? I am currently using that with component out to my TV. Is it a different model of E100 for diffrenet regions? Btw, I am using the Asian model, which does not have SCART, but I am sure there is component out.
     
  24. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    UK one does not have component outs on it 100% sure.

    US/Asia Pac I believe did.
     
  25. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just checked, mine doesbt have component out on it....i take it the dmre85 does. if so that i will be selling my dmre100 in the next week or so.
     
  26. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The general consensus appears to be that it's only the non European versions without SCART's that have component output, but the entire new range of UK recorders including the E85 have both.
     
  27. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    good, i will be sticking with the dmre85 then...thanks to all those that responded
     

Share This Page

Loading...