DMR85: timer preventing tv viewing?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sirp, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. sirp

    sirp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +37
    forgive my newbieness to the dvd recording world..rigged it all up today

    recording fine

    just tried a timer program. When i put the timer on, the timer comes on as should be, but my tv picture vanishes (just get tv blue screen)! i can only get it back if i say put the dvd display or another menu, or turning e85 off

    sky is connected via tv output and av1 and av2 set to rgb

    i dont have the coax or aerial lead plugged in the dvd ( i didnt think i needed it)

    what am i doing wrong??

    edited to say:

    i must point out, the connection from dvd to tv is via a scart switcher, not that should make a difference...it records fine if i hit record, i can watch whilst recording, its just hitting the timer button that causes this issue

    when i manually flick through my tv scart EXT i get back to AV1 and it says playback only allowed as timer standby activated....does this mean you cannot watch sky through your dvd recorder once timer is activated, is this behaving properly then?


    cheers

    Paul
     
  2. giuliopan

    giuliopan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Paul,

    I think the 'problem' might be that you have AV2 set to 'Ext'; try setting it to 'Decoder'. Unfortunately, I found this out because I got pale colours when AV2 was set to 'Decoder' (have a look at this thread), so I don't know whether getting rid of the annoyances you describe above would indeed bring another problem to surface.

    To check it out, while AV2 is set to 'Decoder', try pressing Enter + 0 on the remote repeatedly. If you see a change in colours, you have the same problem I have.

    Cheers,

    --Giulio
     
  3. sirp

    sirp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +37
    if i press enter + 0 i get 'ON' flash on the tv and dvd???

    stil cant get a sky signal no matter what ive tried with timer on?? yes it records sky fine, but i cant watch it whilst timer on
     
  4. sirp

    sirp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +37
    this is annoying now, i must have made some billy basic error..or does timer standby prevent sky viewing when set to RGB?

    when i set timer to av2 and leave unit on with timer on (timer standby), i dont get sky showing ..turn e85 dvd off whilst timer set i get sky. its recording fine whilst unit is off (as per instructions) it activates itself and off it goes recording,a dn i get sky viewable via AV" on e85

    as soon as i hit the timer button, the osd seems to go from rgb to normal (ie can see fuzzy reds!) too..just like when you hit Sky remote TV button (As other threads say)..does the timer recording take it out of RGB mode then?
    if so, is that why i cant see sky as the e85 is set to AV1 and AV2 = RGB?

    is there a way round this if this is the case? so i can hit timer and still watch sky without turning e85 off.
     
  5. sirp

    sirp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +37
    anyone clarify anything about what im trying to do..the manual isnt the best

    :(

    all i want to do (well the wife does) is watch sky whilst timer is set..and leave the e85 on

    cant wait to show her how to use it :(
     
  6. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Certainly the similar hs2 prevents viewing when the timer is on and the hs2 is on. Turn the hs2 off and the timer still works but you can view sky when not actually recording.
    When the recording starts you again can't see sky through the hs2, turn it on and you see the program you are recording and can use time slip etc whilst viewing the recording as it is being made.
    To see sky whilst recording from analogue you need a second scart conection from the vcr out on the digibox to the tv.
    There is no way around to do what you want without turning off the timer. Recordings will be in rgb.
     
  7. sirp

    sirp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +37
    ok, cheers for that..i just didnt want to spend more time on something that wasnt a problem..just a feature..do you know why this should be the case on recorders..ie..timer standby different to off?

    i dont use analogue so thats not an issue thanks

    are there any guides written by normal useful users of these things to record from sky the best way, by that i mean using sky to program recordings, or using the videoplus cheating getaround..the manual is a bit pants?
     

Share This Page

Loading...