DMR-EH60 Multiregion Hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by shaunr, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi,

    I'm currently recording something to HDD and decided to watch an R1 dvd. I'm getting a message saying that the disc isn't compatible with the current system settings?? The player is supposed to be Multiregion (from Richer Sounds). Do i have to do something, or is it supposed to be automatic (or have my Richer Sounds forgot to mod this.. :( )

    Thanks,

    Shaun
     
  2. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Looking for answers on this it would appear that the EH60 will not deal with the 2 standards at the same time. ie You cannot record in PAL to HDD and playback an R1 NTSC dvd. I thought it might playback in PAL-60 but it appears not to like it.

    Anyone else noticed this? (seems to have scuppered my idea of removing my old dvd player :( )

    Cheers,

    Shaun
     
  3. stupidboyjj

    stupidboyjj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    How odd - at around the same time you posted, I was doing the same thing, recording on the HDD and attempting to watch a NTSC disc of Curb Your Enthusiasm, I also got the message 'wrong television standard' or whatever it says. I know my player (also from Richer Sounds) is multiregion because I checked it when I got it on Friday. Mildly annoying I suppose - as you say, I am removing my other dvd player to take it upstairs - but in our household we don't usually record stuff whilst watching a dvd.

    Does the player play PAL discs whilst recording a PAL tv programme? Didn't actually try this.
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,525
    It should play a PAL disc whilst recording. None of the Panasonics allow you to record in one system and watch an NTSC DVD as the same time.
     
  5. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes, it does allow a PAL disc to be played at the same time but i wondered why it just doesn't ouput the ntsc disc as PAL-60?

    On another note, what is the point of the Timer button? The programme records whether it's engaged or not, except you get a warning message when not? Am i missing something here?

    Cheers,

    Shaun
     
  6. sjw

    sjw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +215
    If you turn the recorder off (standby), it doesn't record..........
     
  7. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    So if i want to watch Freeview but have something in the Timed Schedule for say later in the week i have to turn off the timer and then turn back on prior to the programme start?
     
  8. illustrator

    illustrator
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I does output as PAL 60 but the framerates are different between the recording (25fps) and playing (30fps), the internal codec can only run at one framerate so it wont allow the NTSC disc to be played while recording
     
  9. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    So what do people do..use a separate dvd player or just not watch NTSC discs whilst recording :)
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,525
    I have a separate DVD player for playing commercial DVDs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...