Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

DMR-E85 recording from satellite

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by namgaws, Nov 26, 2004.

1. namgaws

namgaws

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I hope you can help me, I'm a little new to all this..

I have just purchsed the above DVD Recorder, and whish to know, how exactly I can get it to record a different channel on my Telewest decoder to the one I'm watching (is it even possible) ? Or will it only ever record the channel I'm watching ?

Also when setting uo the E85 it asked me to hook up an ariel connection.. as I am on cable, I don't have an ariel, and as such didn't connect one... Is it necessary to install one... if I'm only ever going to watch channels through the cable?

Cheers in advance

Mark

2. charker

charker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    I'm no expert but...

Unless you have 2 receivers (either satelite or cable) you can only receive and therefore record one program, the one you are watching.

SKY+ for example has two receivers (and a modfied LNB on the dish, and 2 cables from the disk to the box) to allow you to watch one channel and record another. I assume you would need 2 Telewest boxes.

Forget the ariel, you don't need it. Connect with SCART RGB if possible.

Charker

3. namgaws

namgaws

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that answer.... it's about the same as I had expected..... damn..