DMR-E500 Lip Sync Problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Ekko Star, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +481
    Noticed this last night whilst recording TV material. The audio & video were suffering from a bad case of lip sync.

    Very strange as the machine has not really exhibited this before. Is it a known problem on this machine and should I take it back whilst it's still under warranty to get it resolved ?
     
  2. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +17
    It is a known issue with many recorders if watching whilst recording through the machine. The sound and picture can get out of sink if one is a little complicated and needs more processing.
    If you watch the recording either later, or in time slip mode, you should see it in sync again. My hs2`suffers from this but youy can watch in time slip mode and bee as little as 7 seconds behind the live broadcast.

    Then again the broadcast itself could be out of sync, more common than you would expect.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,286
    I find a lot of Sky transmissions are out of sync these days.
     
  4. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +481
    I knew this was a problem with the HS2 but it's never been a problem with the E500 up until now. Was recording The Apprentice off Freeview. Via the recorder the sync was well out, straight via TV it was fine. Just a bit concerened it has started to exhibit it now ?
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,190
    This is the first time I have heard of lip sync problems caused by the HS2. I have had mine for ages and never had the hS2 cause it. I have had lip sync with my Freeview tranmission though.
     
  6. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    961
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    I have a HS2 with the sync problem and have read later versions are OK.
    After phoning a panasonic service centre, the chap reckoned it was due to the Multiregion modding performed, thiers being sourced from Panasonic as MR was done "properly", other companies were left in service mode!
    Not so sure :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...