DMR E50 Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Johndm, Jun 28, 2003.

  1. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    I currently have a m/region Panasonic RA-82.

    Thinking of getting a E-50 now the price has taken a dive below £300. Does the E-50 have DVD-A capability (with direct phono outputs).?

    If not, I'm gonna have to daisy chain the old RA-82 through the E-50 to retain DVD-A (well the onscreen bits anyway)
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,267
    I don't have any DVD-Audio disks but I'm fairly certain the E50 does NOT support DVD-A.
     
  3. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Does anyone know if the new E-60 supports DVD-A then?

    regards
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,267
    The AVLand site states the E60 has "DVD Audio Playback (Stereo only)". The same goes for the upcoming E100. I don't know much about DVD Audio but I assume that means DVD-A is not properly supported.
     
  5. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you would probably link the RA82 to the E50 anyway

    as the RA82 supports RAM

    you can record to RAM edit, play disc on RA82 and burn to -R

    I am sure you will find this very useful

    I do this with the S35, that does have the advantage of component connections to CRT though

    Does the RA82 have S-Video if so you could connect to the E50 via S-Video then still connect to CRT via scart
     
  6. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    You just convinced me to keep the RA-82..:D

    Never thought of those editing possabilities, 'kin well spotted!

    It will also solve my recording limitations, as I run my RA-82 through my Panny digibox scart to retain full RGB signals to my telly's RGB enabled scart input.

    So, the SCART chain will be.....RA-82 at end into digibox, digibox into E50, E50 into telly.

    Should now be able to record $ky on the E50, and trash those VCR's at last..:smoke:
     

Share This Page

Loading...